Partisan primary: Tuesday, Aug. 14.
General election: Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Jan. 17: UW-Fox Valley (WisEye video)

Dec. 11: VFW Post 305 – Eau Claire (WisEye video)

Republican Incumbents

Scott Walker

Walker is the 45th governor of Wisconsin. First elected in 2010, won a 2012 recall and was re-elected in 2014. Elected to the state Assembly in 1993 and won a special election for Milwaukee County executive in 2002, re-elected 2004, 2008.

Campaign manager: Joe Fadness

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $7.15 million
Spent: $2.99 million
Cash on hand: $4.21 million

Website: interview: Walker defends job creation record, touts workforce efforts ahead of re-election announcement

Rebecca Kleefisch

Kleefisch is the 44th lieutenant governor of Wisconsin. First elected along with Walker in 2010. Running for re-election as lieutenant governor.

Website: interview: Kleefisch: Walker’s budget reflects residents’ desires

Republican Primary Challengers

Declared Republican primary challengers include: Ryan Cason, of Solon Springs; Jacob Augustine-Clark, of Madison; and Robert Meyer, of Sun Prairie.

Democratic Candidates

Tony Evers

Evers is superintendent of public instruction. He was first elected in 2009 and re-elected in 2013 and 2017.

Campaign manager: Maggie Gau

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $749,634
Spent: $751,901
Cash on hand: $115,062

Website: interview: Evers counting his ability to work across party lines as a plus in guv bid

Matt Flynn

Flynn is a retired partner at Quarles & Brady and is former state Democratic Party chair.

Campaign manager: Bryan Kennedy

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $350,511 (Includes $40,000 in loans.)
Spent: $45,539
Cash on hand: $304,972


Andy Gronik

Gronik is a Milwaukee businessman and founder of the non-profit Stage W.

Campaign manager: Heather Ullsvik

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $554,430 (Includes self-donation of $450,000.)
Spent: $456,603
Cash on hand: $97,827

Website: interview: Gronik says he’d be a ‘no’ vote on Foxconn deal

Mike McCabe

McCabe is former director of the Wisconsin Democracy Campaign and founder of Blue Jean Nation.

Campaign manager: Christine Welcher

2017 Fundraising (Includes $25,000 in loans.)
Raised: $104,494
Spent: $83,337
Cash on hand: $21,159


Mahlon Mitchell

Mitchell is president of the Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin and served more than 15 years as a Madison firefighter.

Campaign manager: Jacob Dusseau

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $395,809
Spent: $154,550
Cash on hand: $247,581

Website:’s interview: Mitchell says his race, Act 10 don’t define his campaign

Kelda Roys

Roys represented the 81st AD from 2008 until 2013 and is former executive director of NARAL Pro-Choice Wisconsin.

Campaign manager: Sonja Chojnacki

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $147,671 (Includes $98,657 in loans.)
Spent: $12,545
Cash on hand: $151,033


Paul Soglin

Soglin is mayor of Madison. He’s served three stints as mayor, from 1973 to 1979, 1989 to 1997, and 2011 to present.

Campaign manager: Melissa Mulliken

2017 Fundraising
(Entered race after filing period.)

Website: interview: Soglin says tax increases needed to invest in education, transportation, other priorities

Kathleen Vinehout

Vinehout, of Alma, represents the 31st SD. She was first elected in 2006, and was re-elected in 2010 and 2014.

Campaign manager: Vacant

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $112,347 (Includes $14,893 in loans.)
Spent: $99,881
Cash on hand: $17,046

Website: interview: Vinehout says voters should consider her experience and performance, not gender

Dana Wachs

Wachs, D-Eau Claire, represents the 91st AD. He was first elected in 2012, and re-elected in 2014 and 2016.

Campaign manager: Brita Olsen

2017 Fundraising
Raised: $555,265 (Includes $271,000 in loans.)
Spent: $395,436
Cash on hand: $162,826


Other Democratic primary candidates include: Mike Crute, of Middleton, Dave Heaster, of Fort Atkinson; Brett Hulsey, of Middleton; Jared Landry, of La Farge; Andrew Lust, of Madison; Jeffrey Rumbaugh, of Madison; and Ramona Whiteaker, of Stoughton. Michele Doolan, of Cross Plains, dropped her bid the weekend of April 7; and Robert Harlow, of Madison, left the race March 29.

Other Candidates

Additional candidates include: Phillip Anderson (Libertarian), of Fitchburg; Jefferson Carpenter (independent), of Madison; Nicholas De Leon (Wisconsin Green), of Green Bay; Robbie Hoffman (Independent Environmental), of Luxemburg; Travis Swenby (independent), of Boyceville; and Timothy Jesse (Equality), of West Allis.