Track the latest developments regarding the Evers administration.


Around WI


Press Releases


Profile: Department of Health Services Secretary Andrea Palm is profiling some of the newly announced state agency heads. This installment features Department of Health Services Secretary Andrea Palm. Palm most recently served...

Profile: Department of Children and Families Secretary Emilie Amundson is profiling some of the newly announced state agency heads. The latest installment features Department of Children and Families Secretary Emilie Amundson. Amundson previously...

Profile: DATCP Secretary Brad Pfaff is profiling some of the newly announced state agency heads. Our latest installment features Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Secretary Brad Pfaff. Pfaff...

Profile: Insurance Commissioner Mark Afable is profiling some of the newly announced state agency heads. The latest installment features Insurance Commissioner Mark Afable. The former chief legal officer at...

Profile: Department of Tourism Secretary Sara Meaney is profiling some of the newly announced state agency heads. The latest installment features Department of Tourism Secretary Sara Meaney. Meaney was most recently...

Gov. Tony Evers

Sworn in Jan. 7, 2019. Evers is formerly superintendent of public instruction. He was first elected as superintendent in 2009 and re-elected in 2013 and 2017.


Chief of Staff: Maggie Gau
Deputy Chief of Staff/Communications Director: Melissa Moore Baldauff
Deputy Chief of Staff: Barbara Worcester
Deputy Chief of Staff: Kara Pennoyer
Budget Director: Brian Pahnke

Transition website:

Inauguration Day: Jan. 7

See information on inauguration events and get tickets here.

Lt. Gov.-elect Mandela Barnes

Sworn in Jan. 7, 2019. Barnes represented Milwaukee’s 11th Assembly District from 2013 – 2017.

Cabinet Appointments
For transition team information, click here.

Department of Corrections
Secretary: Kevin Carr
Deputy Secretary: Amy Pechacek

Carr was U.S. Marshal for the Eastern District of Wisconsin and served 30 years in the Milwaukee County Sheriff’s office. He has degrees from Concordia University and is a graduate of the Northwestern University School of Police Staff and Command and the FBI National Academy in Quantico, Va.

See a profile here.

Department of Natural Resources
Secretary: Preston Cole
Deputy Secretary: Elizabeth Kluesner

Cole has been a member of the state Natural Resources Board, commissioner of the Milwaukee Department of Neighborhood Services and operations director for the City of Milwaukee Department of Public Works. The former Parks Superintendent for the City of St. Louis, he has a degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Department of Transportation
Secretary: Craig Thompson
Deputy Secretary: Paul Hammer

Thompson comes from the Transportation Development Association, where he was executive director. Before that he was the legislative director for the Wisconsin Counties Association. The Racine native has a degree from UW-Madison.

See a profile here.

Department of Children and Families
Secretary: Emilie Amundson
Deputy Secretary: Jeff Pertl

Amundson has been chief of staff at the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, where she also served as director of Literacy and Mathematics and English Language Arts Consultant. Before that, she was an English educator and school founder in New York City. She has degrees from UW-Madison and Harvard.

See a profile here.

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
Commissioner: Mark Afable
Deputy Commissioner: Nathan Houdek

Afable has been chief legal officer at American Family, where he has worked since 1994. He earned his undergraduate and law degrees from Marquette University.

See a profile here.

Department of Tourism
Secretary: Sara Meaney
Deputy Secretary: Anne Sayers

Meaney has been the chief marketing and development officers for Milwaukee Film and was involved with the firms BVK, Comet Branding and Hanson Dodge Creative. She has a degree from UW-Madison.

See a profile here.

Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
Secretary: Brad Pfaff
Deputy Secretary: Randy Romanski

He has been deputy chief of staff to U.S. Rep. Ron Kind, D- La Crosse, and previously was executive director of the USDA Farm Service Agency. He grew up on a La Crosse County dairy farm and got degrees from UW-Green Bay and George Mason.

See a profile here.

Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority

Division of Personnel Management

Department of Administration
Secretary: Joel Brennan
Deputy Secretary: Chris Patton

A close associate of Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett, Brennan has served as the CEO of Discovery World since 2007. He has degrees from Marquette University and the University of Chicago.

Department of Health Services
Secretary: Andrea Palm
Deputy Secretary: Julie Willems Van Dijk

Palm most recently served as senior counselor to the Secretary of Health and Human Services under President Obama. She also had other HHS positions and worked for Sen. Hillary Clinton and California Congressman Robert Matsui. She has degrees from Cornell and Washington University.

See a profile here.

Department of Safety and Professional Services
Secretary: Dawn Crim
Deputy Secretary: Nia Trammell

Crim has been the assistant state superintendent for the Division of Student and School Success at DPI. Crim, who worked as an assistant coach with the Badger women’s basketball team, had various UW System and UW-Madison posts. She has degrees from the University of Virginia and Penn State.

Wisconsin Economic Development Corp.
Secretary & CEO: Mark Hogan

Hogan retired as executive vice president and chief credit officer for M&I Marshall & Ilsley Bank and BMO Harris Bank after nearly 40 years with the company, and was most recently a senior adviser to BMO Harris. Former Gov. Scott Walker appointed Hogan to the post in September 2015. Because of a lame-duck session law, Evers must wait until September to make his own appointment.

Public Service Commission
Chair: Rebecca Cameron Valcq

A Quarles & Brady attorney, Valcq spent 15 years as regulatory counsel for WE Energies. She received her undergraduate degree from Drake University and her law degree from Marquette University.

Department of Veterans Affairs
Secretary: Mary Kolar
Deputy Secretary: James Bond

A Dane County supervisor first elected in 2013, Kolar is a retired U.S. Navy captain who chaired the Dane County Veterans Service Commission. She has degrees from UW-La Crosse, the U.S. Naval War College and the University of Rhode Island.

See a profile here.

Department of Financial Institutions
Secretary: Kathy Koltin Blumenfeld
Deputy Secretary: Cheryll Olson-Collins

Koltin Blumenfel has been the executive vice president of special operations at TASC. Before joining TASC, she worked for CUNA Mutual Group for 25 years, at two large accounting firms and for state Sen. Joe Strohl. She has a degree from UW-Madison.

See a profile here.

Department of Revenue
Secretary: Peter Barca
Deputy Secretary: David Casey

A Democratic state representative from Kenosha’s 64th Assembly District, Barca also is a former congressman and Midwest regional administrator for the SBA under President Clinton. He also was on the WEDC board. He has degrees from UW-Milwaukee and UW-Madison.

Department of Workforce Development
Secretary: Caleb Frostman
Deputy Secretary: JoAnna Richard

Frostman, a former state senator for the 1st Senate District in the Door County area, previously served as executive director for the Door County Economic Development Corp. He has a degree from the UW-Madison School of Business.