

Press Release for July 20, 2017 Media Contact - Dennis Hughes | 608-371-3485 | dennis@cathymyersforcongress.com

## Twenty Local Elected Officials Endorse Cathy Myers to Take on Speaker Ryan

Local Democrats believe Cathy Myers is the best candidate to oust Paul Ryan

Today, Democratic Congressional Candidate Cathy Myers announced the endorsement of twenty local elected leaders in her bid to take on Speaker of the House Paul Ryan. Myers has received the most endorsements in the two-way Democratic Primary in Wisconsin's First Congressional District.

Myers's endorsements include state senators, mayors, county board supervisors, city council members, and school board commissioners.

Anissa Welch, the mayor of Milton, WI, explained her support by saying, "Cathy is the type of person that I know I can count on to act when our local community needs support. As a mayor, that's important to me, which is why Cathy has my full support."

Charlene Staples, a Walworth County Supervisor, <u>believes</u> Cathy Myers is the best candidate to support the environment and to oppose the tar sands infrastructure projects in her district. "Cathy has set herself apart as an outspoken advocate on environmental issues, which is why she has earned my support and full endorsement. Not only is Cathy the best candidate on the environment, she is also the only candidate in the race that has won an election."

Cathy Myers is a two-term Janesville School Board member that was <u>elected</u> in 2013 with over 4,000 votes and reelected in 2016 with over 10,000 votes. She is the only candidate vying to face Paul Ryan that has won an election. Myers is a 23-year high school English teacher that is also the only elected local union officer in the race.

## Below is the full endorsement list:

- State Senator Janis Ringhand
- State Senator Judy Robson (retired)
- Beloit City Council President Kevin Leavy
- Beloit City Councilman Clinton Anderson
- Delavan Alderman Ryan Schroeder
- Lake Geneva Mayor Al Kupsik
- Milton Mayor Anissa Welch
- Janesville City Council President Sam Liebert (retired)
- Janesville School Board Commissioner Carla Quirk
- Janesville School Board Commissioner Jim Millard
- Janesville School Board Commissioner Ben Dobson
- Kenosha County Supervisor Dayvin Hallmon
- Milwaukee Alderwoman Chantia Lewis
- Milwaukee County Supervisor David Sartori
- Rock County Supervisor Kara Hawes
- Rock County Supervisor Wes Davis
- Rock County Supervisor Stephanie Aegerter
- Rock County Supervisor Norvain Pleasant
- Rock County Supervisor Karl Dommershausen
- Walworth County Supervisor Charlene Staples

To learn more about Cathy, visit <a href="https://www.CathyMyersForCongress.com">www.CathyMyersForCongress.com</a>, <a href="facebook">Facebook</a>; or <a href="mailto:Twitter">Twitter</a>.