Wisconsin Elections Commission

State of Wisconsin

212 E. Washington Ave., Third Floor • Madison, WI 53703 • elections@wi.gov • (608) 266-8005 • http://elections.wi.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 21, 2017 FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Reid Magney, 608-267-7887

King Resigns from Wisconsin Elections Commission

MADISON, WI – Steve King, an original member of the Wisconsin Elections Commission, resigned from the commission on Monday due to his appointment as U.S. Ambassador to the Czech Republic.

"It has been an honor to serve as your representative on the Commission," King said in his resignation letter to Assembly Speaker Robin Vos, who appointed him. "I want to thank you for the opportunity to serve the people of Wisconsin. A little over a year ago we successfully launched this new bipartisan elections organization. I am confident the WEC will continue to retain the confidence of the citizens of the state."

King is the founder King Capital LLC and a member of the Republican National Committee from Janesville.

Commission Chair Mark Thomsen thanked King for his service to the Commission during its first year. "Steve's bi-partisan approach has been a major asset to the Commission as we tackled issues related to voter photo ID, the presidential recount, and crucially to his work to make sure that the WEC is fully funded by the State of Wisconsin so that the WEC and its dedicated staff can continue to work with county and municipal clerks statewide to ensure open, honest and fair elections," Thomsen said. "On this special day of the total solar eclipse, we thank Steve and wish him and his family all the best as he embarks on a new and exciting chapter of service to our country."

Speaker Vos will appoint a replacement for Commissioner King at a later date.

Commissioner King's resignation letter is attached.

###

The Wisconsin Elections Commission is responsible for administration and enforcement of election laws in Wisconsin. The Commission is made up of six Commissioners – four appointed directly by the State Senate Majority Leader, Speaker of the Assembly and the Minority Leaders in the State Senate and Assembly. The remaining two Commissioners are by the Governor with confirmation by the State Senate from lists of former municipal and county clerks submitted by the legislative leadership in each party.