

President REED WARNER

President Elect CHRISTY BERGER

Executive Director BILL ESBECK

For Immediate Release July 2, 2018 Contact: Bill Esbeck, Executive Director Phone: 608-469-7171 Email: bill.esbeck@wsta.info

WISCONSIN'S RURAL BROADBAND PROVIDERS AWARD \$50,500 IN SCHOLARSHIPS TO WISCONSIN STUDENTS

MADISON--The Wisconsin State Telecommunications Foundation (Foundation) issued scholarship awards totaling \$50,500 to 39 students statewide. Since 1966, the Foundation awards total \$1,588,450 to 1,250 students. The Foundation is affiliated with the Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association (WSTA), a statewide trade organization whose membership includes 33 management units who collectively operate 67 local communications companies.

"In addition to providing high quality products and services to businesses, health care facilities, libraries, homes and schools throughout Wisconsin, our scholarship program is one of the many ways our member companies are giving back to their communities," said WSTA Executive Director Bill Esbeck.

The Foundation awarded 29 scholarships of \$1,500 each to graduating high school students throughout the state; two scholarships of \$750 each to second-year students attending the Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College's Broadband Technologies program; two \$750 Technical College Scholarships and five \$500 Technical College scholarships. Furthermore, one student also received the eleventh annual Bruce Reuber WSTF Memorial Scholarship.

Access the full list of 2018 scholarship winners here: WSTF 2018 Scholarship Winners.

NOTE: In addition to participating in the WSTF program, many WSTA member companies also offer their own local scholarships. The award totals in this release do not include the scholarships WSTA member companies award locally, whose winners are not selected by the WSTF.

###