

## Office of the Mayor

Satya Rhodes-Conway, Mayor City-County Building, Room 403 210 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. Madison, WI 53703 Phone: (608) 266-4611 | Fax: (608) 267-8671 mayor@cityofmadison.com cityofmadison.com

For Immediate Release November 20, 2019 Contact: Renee Callaway 608-266-6225

## Bicycle Friendly Community Designation Announcement Join Madison, Fitchburg, Sun Prairie and Verona

The City of Madison along with Fitchburg, Sun Prairie and Verona invite you to attend a press conference announcing the 2019 Bicycle Friendly Community designations for the Cities of Madison, Fitchburg, Sun Prairie and Verona.

In 2015, the City of Madison received designation as one of 5 Platinum Bicycle Friendly Communities and in 2019 applied to renew its designation. "The City of Madison is proud to have achieved Platinum status in 2015 and is committed to continuing to being one of the top cities for bicycling," said Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway. "Biking plays an important role in transportation, recreation, and health in Madison and throughout the region."

The Bicycle Friendly Communities designation recognizes communities for their commitment to creating transportation and recreational resources that benefit its residents of all ages and abilities while encouraging healthier and more sustainable transportation choices. Communities in Dane County have worked collaboratively to apply for Bicycle Friendly designation with the assistance of the Healthy Kids Collaborative of Dane County and the Madison Area Transportation Planning Board. Dane County was the first region in the country to take a regional approach to applying for bicycle-friendly designation.

The five levels of the BFC award – diamond, platinum, gold, silver and bronze, plus an honorable mention category – provide a clear incentive for communities to continuously improve. Awarded communities must renew their status every four years to ensure that they not only maintain existing efforts, but also keep up with changing technology, national safety standards, and community-driven best practices.

## **Press Conference:**

Date:	Thursday, November 21
Time:	11:15 AM
Location:	Room 153 Madison Municipal Building, 215 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd

## **Receiving Awards:**

Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway, City of Madison Mayor Paul Esser, City of Sun Prairie Alder Julia Arata-Fratta, City of Fitchburg Katherine Holt, City of Verona Community Development Specialist