Wisconsin Elections Commission

State of Wisconsin

212 E. Washington Ave., Third Floor = Madison, WI 53703 = elections@wi.gov = (608) 266-8005 = https://elections.wi.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 4, 2020

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Reid Magney, 608-267-7887

Independent Candidates for President

MADISON, WI – Five independent candidates filed signatures and paperwork today with the Wisconsin Elections Commission to get their names on the ballot for President of the United States in the state for the November 3 General Election.

Under Wisconsin law, independent presidential candidates can get on the ballot by filing a minimum of 2,000 valid signatures of Wisconsin electors on nomination papers, as well as a Declaration of Candidacy form for both the presidential and vice-presidential candidates.

These candidates filed papers today:

- Jo Jorgensen (Pres.) and Jeremy Spike Cohen (VP) Libertarian Party
- Howie Hawkins (Pres.) and Angela Walker (VP) Green Party
- Brian Carroll (Pres.) and Amar Patel (VP) American Solidarity Party
- Kanye West (Pres.) and Michelle Tidball (VP) BDY (The Birthday Party) Independent
- Kyle Kenley Kopitke (Pres.) and Taja Yvonne Iwanow (VP) The Peoples Revolution

Copies of the nomination papers filed by all candidates will be available Wednesday on the Commission's data website: https://BadgerVoters.wi.gov.

WEC staff will be reviewing the petitions in the coming days to determine sufficiency and that the candidates meet all qualifications to get on the ballot. All candidates are currently in pending status and have not yet been approved. Candidates for the November 3 General Election will be certified by the WEC at a later date.

###

The Wisconsin Elections Commission is responsible for administration and enforcement of election laws in Wisconsin. The Commission is made up of six Commissioners – four appointed directly by the State Senate Majority Leader, Speaker of the Assembly and the Minority Leaders in the State Senate and Assembly. The remaining two Commissioners are appointed by the Governor with confirmation by the State Senate from lists of former municipal and county clerks submitted by the legislative leadership in each party.