

January 15th, 2021

## DELIVERED ELECTRONICALLY

Senator Ron Johnson, Congressman Scott Fitzgerald, and Congressman Tom Tiffany:

The events of January 6th, 2021 shocked and appalled the nation, as armed insurrectionists overran the United States Capitol in an attempt to overturn the election of President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris.

This was not an isolated or spontaneous event, emerging in-the-moment from a mass of impassioned supporters. In the days following this extremist attack on the seat of our democracy, details have emerged showing this was a planned, coordinated event with violent intent. The siege of the U.S. Capitol was aided and encouraged by President Donald Trump as part of a desperate attempt to undermine our democratic institutions and cling to power.

Likewise, we cannot forget the role that many legislators played in encouraging this rhetoric and undermining public perception of the legitimacy of our election process for their own political gain. Those who aided, abetted, and encouraged these events and the campaign of misinformation leading up to them must be held accountable.

The future of our republic is in danger. As elected officials, it is our duty to stand up and confront this crisis head-on. Legislators cannot claim to uphold our democracy and our Constitution while also undermining our election process and encouraging insurgent groups.

Senator Ron Johnson, Congressman Scott Fitzgerald, and Congressman Tom Tiffany each have supported President Trump's false and inflammatory claims and conspiracy theories regarding our election process. Senator Johnson has been a particular ally of the president, and all three legislators have continued to push the president's false claims and lies, culminating in the January 6th attack on the U.S. Capitol by individuals intent on causing harm.

Legislators who have aided and abetted efforts to undermine the peaceful transition of power and our Constitutional processes cannot effectively represent their constituents in Congress. Today, we call on Senator Ron Johnson, Congressman Scott Fitzgerald, and Congressman Tom Tiffany to immediately resign from their seats for their role in supporting and instigating this assault on our democracy.

Sincerely,

Greta Neubauer State Representative

heta Newbanes

66<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Chris Larson State Senator

7<sup>th</sup> Senate District



P.O. BOX 8952 • MADISON, WI 53708

Kelda Roys State Senator 26<sup>th</sup> Senate District

KeldaHelenGoy

\_\_\_\_

Lee Snodgrass State Representative 57<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Samba Baldeh State Representative 48<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Sue Conley State Representative 44<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

David Bowen State Representative 10<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Mark Spreitzer

Mark Spreitzer State Representative 45<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Francesca Hong State Representative 76<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Jodi Emerson State Representative 91st Assembly District

Sondy Pope State Representative 80<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Johathan Brostoff State Representative 19<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Kristina Shelton State Representative 90<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Niva Jubeck

Lisa Subeck State Representative 78<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Gary Hebl State Representative 46<sup>th</sup> Assembly District

Marisabel Cabrera State Representative 9<sup>th</sup> Assembly District