

# Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes to recognize outstanding individuals and organizations for their service at the 2021 Governor's Service Awards on August 4, 2021

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DATE: 8/3/21

CONTACT: Jeanne Duffy, Executive Director

PHONE: 608-692-4121

EMAIL: jeanne.duffy@wisconsin.gov

Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes will attend the 2021 Governor's Service Awards to honor nine individuals and five organizations from throughout the state for their outstanding volunteerism and service to the people of Wisconsin. The honorees' volunteerism and service addressed critical issues impacting Wisconsin communities throughout the last year, including COVID-19 response, food insecurity and nutrition, health care access, and academic and social support gaps for students.

In addition, Governor Evers and Serve Wisconsin will recognize 221 AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers who have volunteered to help our fellow Wisconsinites for 20 years or more. This recognition was added to the annual ceremony this year and will become a yearly tradition.

Recipients will be honored at the Governor's Service Awards ceremony, to be held at the Monona Terrace in Madison at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, August 4, 2021.

Governor Tony Evers will be opening the ceremony with recorded remarks and Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes will be present to conclude the ceremony with his closing remarks and to take photographs with the honorees. In addition to attending in person, media and the general public can virtually attend the awards at the following links:

- YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpGPVqXPkJ0
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/525154281905981/

Additional information about the Governor's Service Awards, including past winners, can be found at https://www.servewisconsin.wi.gov/governors-service-awards



## **2021 HONOREES**

## **AmeriCorps Member of the Year Honoree:**

Tre' Wafford - College Possible Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)

## **AmeriCorps Program of the Year Honoree:**

Department of Public Instruction AmeriCorps Farm to School Program (statewide)

#### **AmeriCorps VISTA Member of the Year Honoree:**

Colin Mackey - Habitat for Humanity of Wisconsin (Baraboo, WI)

#### **AmeriCorps VISTA Program of the Year Honoree:**

Wisconsin Association of Free and Charitable Clinics (statewide)

## **AmeriCorps Alumni of the Year Honoree:**

Katherine Matisse – originally served with Teach For America Milwaukee and currently the Executive Director of TwoBirds Tutoring Co. (Milwaukee, WI)

### **AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteer of the Year Honoree:**

Mildred "Dolly" McGeshick - Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council Senior Companions Program (Crandon, WI)

## **AmeriCorps Seniors Program of the Year Honoree:**

Copper Lake / Lincoln Hills Foster Grandparent Program (Irma, WI)

## **AmeriCorps Seniors Lifetime Impact Volunteer Honoree:**

Betty Elsner – RSVP of Dane County, Inc. (Stoughton, WI)

## **AmeriCorps Seniors Lifetime Impact Volunteer Honoree:**

Sally Vyvyan - Southwestern Wisconsin Community Action Program - Foster Grandparent Program (Westby, WI)

#### **Volunteer Coordinator of the Year:**

Maryssa Paulsen – MCHS Volunteer Wisconsin at New Leaf Foods, Inc. (Green Bay, WI)

## **COVID-19 Response Service Award:**

Lisa Penterman – Be Well Fox Valley AmeriCorps Program (Appleton, WI)

## **COVID-19 Response Service Award:**

Don Strube - RSVP Program of Portage County (Stevens Point, WI)

### **COVID-19 Response Service Award:**

Marshfield Clinic Health System AmeriCorps Volunteer Wisconsin (statewide)

## **COVID-19 Response Service Award:**

Silver Threads – RSVP Program of Portage County (Stevens Point, WI)

## AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteers with 20+ Years of Service

#### **ADVOCAP RSVP**

Paul Reiden Janet VanLankVelt

### **CESA 10 Foster Grandparents Program**

Kathleen Margraf Barbara Robinson Mildred Schweinler Lorraine Schluter

## **Northwest Wisconsin Community Services Agency RSVP**

Virgina Benninghoff

Reino Hill

Mary D Hudson

Jeanne Hultman

Rita Kovach

Sharon Manthei **Doris Morello** 

Donna Roguski

**Ruth Smith** 

June Steel

Patricia Summerfield

Mary A. Sveda

Shirely Thoen

Jean Vandevoorde

#### **RSVP of Brown County**

Barbara Beaver **Dorothy Perpich** 

Yvonne Ward

## **RSVP of Coulee Region**

**Betty Baier** 

Pat Blanchard

Sister Fran Browning

Patricia Forer

Betty Fukuda

Gerrie Gerke

**Evelyn Hammes** 

Mary Hanson

Velma Lutz

Carol Parker

**Dorothy Paulikas** 

Marilyn Pertzsch

Charlotte Phelps

George Renner

Dorothy Ricke

Winnie Solberg

## **RSVP of Dane County**

Barbara Arntz Bill J. Arthur

Melvern L. Bankes

James W. Benes

Joanne Berschet Valerie Birrenkott

**Dorothy Blotz** 

Walter Brinkmann

Barbara L. Bristol

Paul L. Brown

Marge Bucholz

**Ruth Conrad** 

Lynne S. Diebel

Kathryn Disch

Marian Drake

Irene Draper

Mary Lee Eaton

Mary Eichelkraut

**Betty Elsner** 

Jeannette M. Erickson

Karen J. Foy

George E. Fuller

**Grant Gelhar** 

Marlene Gerner

Dorothy I. Handrick

Caroll Heiderman

Robert W. Hoffman

Marcia C. Holman

Lee Ihlenfeldt

Berneice Jelle

Margaret Jensen

Everett E. Johnson

Phyllis J. Johnson

Gary W. Karl

**Dorothy Karls** 

Janet J. Knutson

**Doris Koster** 

Terry L. Kringle

Frederick Kruger

**Ethel Lamboley** 

Adolph E. Leueberger

Saul Levin

Francis C. Long

Virginia A. Lunde

Julie Madden

Louise Maier

Charlotte Marshall

Jim D. Meyer

Margaret E. Meyer

Wayne G. Meyer

Robert Moe Sharon M. Mogensen

Nancy Nesheim

Marie Oakeson

Peter Orlik

Pat Osborn

Shirley Outerbridge

Sharon A. Owen

Barbara Palmer

Suzanne Penfield

Helen Pertzborn

Kenneth J. Pippert

Georgia Post

Elizabeth Rewey

David Rice

Rob Rodini Charles Rose

Dick Royston

Roberta L. Ruder

Harold Sabot

Joan Schneeberger

Kay L. Schoonmaker

Florence Smith

Susan Sorrentino

Mary Stamstad

Henrietta Statz

Dawn E. Stucki

Robert F. Syvrud

Judy Tegtman

Bill Thiede

Jeanne Topel Robert Topel

Lois B. Tyler

Roger D. Utermark

Charlotte Viney

**Delories Vosen** 

Evelyn Wagner **Bruce Whiting** 

Colleen Wincensten

Doris Zweifel

#### **RSVP of Kenosha County**

Jerry Anderson
Jerome Clements
William Colombe
Minnie Cox-Laudonio
Eleanor Gapko
Catherine Higgins
John Hoffman
Dorothy Jansen
Carol Knight
Betty Schlater
Maxine Silvius
Marilyn Strangberg

# **RSVP of Portage County**

Holly Ballenger Ed Bancker Pat Bohanski Mari Buzza Janice Catlin Angie Derezinski Bernie Domaszek Ruth Duda Claire Feigelson Julie Firkus Joyce Gilligan Carol Grasamkee Helen Hetchler Pat Hilpert Jean Iverson Liz Kammer Ramona Kizewski Marge Krogwold Jeanette Osowski Marilyn Pederson Carolyn Potocki Ray Potocki Sally Rice Mary Ann Sankey Judy Smith Julitta Szczepanski Marcy Trzinski Marilyn Worth Marge Zaske

## **RSVP of Racine County**

Shirley Chmielewski Evelyn Lajiness Ellen Martino Barbara Rigden Jackie Romeril Lawrence Terry

## **RSVP of Rock County**

**Betty Ainger** Jane Clift Larry Clift Lois Ferrera **Delores Folver** Yoshiko Glos Joyce Gray **Carol Hurley** Naomi Hackbarth **Shirley Jeffers** Judith Lechelt **Dolores Leonard** Virginia Nitz Norma Olin Joann Petersons **Eva Pickett** Phil Pickett Alfred Pinnow **Beth Schmuck Fung Scholz** Karen Starling Marcia Stenberg Marge Terneus **Dorothy Warriner** Gene Wenham Laurena Wise

# **RSVP of Waukesha County**

Margaret Brandenburg
Ted Dahl
Bill Gay
Cecelia Gump
Roy Gump
Janice Hector
Dick Klingbeil
Patricia Knuth
Rosemary Loesche
Yvonne McCormick
Nancy Schmidt
Kathleen Urban
Dolores Wuttke