(608) 266-2401 Toll-Free: (888) 534-0005 Rep.Steineke@legis.wi.gov

P.O. Box 8953 Madison, WI 53708-8953

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: Rep. Jim Steineke

October 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2021 (608) 266-2401

## Former Poynette-Dekorra EMS Chief to be Named Assembly 'Hometown Hero'

**MADISON** – The Wisconsin State Assembly will recognize Ernie Koepp as a "Hometown Hero" at the upcoming Assembly session on October 27<sup>th</sup>.

Koepp, who was nominated by his state representative, Jon Plumer (R-Lodi), has had a profound impact on his community during his many years of service.

"Ernie is community oriented to his core," said Assembly Majority Leader Jim Steineke (R-Kaukauna) who selected him for the award. "He embodies all the best qualities of a transformative leader and is truly deserving of this recognition."

Koepp has been a member of the Poynette-Dekorra Fire Department for over 50 years, serving as EMS chief for 16 of those. During his tenure, Koepp led several initiatives to update and modernize the force, including the purchase of its first ambulance in 1977 and establishing AED machines in public areas around both communities during the early 2010s. Koepp also served as an EMS instructor at Madison College for over 20 years, teaching countless students basic medical care. Koepp's efforts have made numerous communities safer across the state.

"Ernie is the epitome of a hometown hero," Rep. Plumer concluded. "In his half of a century of service to the Poynette-Dekorra area, Ernie has left a positive mark on his community that will be impossible to match."

Wisconsinites have a long, prominent history of community service and selflessness. In keeping with this tradition, the Wisconsin State Assembly created the Hometown Heroes program to identify and recognize individuals from around the state who are working to make their communities a better place. Award winners are invited to the State Capitol and given an opportunity to speak on the Assembly floor as a special guest.

###

Representative Steineke serves as the Assembly Majority Leader in addition to representing Wisconsin's 5th Assembly District, which includes parts of Brown and Outagamie counties.