

NOT READY FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 21, 2022

Contact: Rep.Drake@legis.wisconsin.gov

(608) 266-3756

## **Changed Leadership in the Wisconsin Legislative Black Caucus**

**Madison WI**- On January 13, 2022, members of the Wisconsin Legislative Black Caucus requested a meeting for the removal of the Wisconsin Legislative Black Caucus Chair for the following reasons:

- 1. Black caucus confidentiality was broken
- 2. Based on actions taken during the year 2021, the majority of Black caucus members' stances were misrepresented

A meeting was conducted on January 14, 2022 and as the majority of votes stand, Representative Stubbs is removed as Chair for the Wisconsin Legislative Black Caucus and Representative Dora Drake will be Interim Chair for the remainder of the 2021-2022 biennium session.

This decision was not taken lightly. But as elected officials and members of the Black Caucus, we have a responsibility to ensure our leadership represents the best interests for Black constituents across the state of Wisconsin.

Members of the Legislative Black Caucus are:

Interim Chair- Representative Dora Drake (D-Milwaukee),

Treasurer- Representative Kalan Haywood (D-Milwaukee),

Secretary- Representative Samba Baldeh (D-Madison),

Senator Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee)

Senator LaTonya Johnson (D-Milwaukee),

Representative David Bowen (D-Milwaukee),

Representative LaKeshia Myers (D-Milwaukee)

Representative Sheila Stubbs (D-Madison),

Representative Supreme Moore-Omokunde (D-Milwaukee).