U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson, R-Oshkosh, joined 44 of his GOP colleagues today in a procedural vote declaring it is unconstitutional to put a former president on trial for impeachment.

The motion, which failed 55-45, was seen as an early test for the upcoming trial of former President Donald Trump. It requires 67 votes to convict Trump.

Five Republicans joined all 48 Dems and two independents in opposing the motion. The Republicans who broke ranks were: Susan Collins, of Maine; Lisa Murkowski, of Alaska; Mitt Romney, of Utah; Ben Sasse, of Nebraska; and Pat Toomey, of Pennsylvania.

See the roll call:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email