The state Senate voted 22-11 to confirm Dave Ross as Transportation secretary with Dems using the vote to knock the guv’s approach to transportation.

Gov. Scott Walker refused to consider a gas tax hike or registration fee increase to fund roads in the 2017-19 budget, and Dems complained that stance means the state’s roads will continue to deteriorate.

Ross, state Sen. Jon Erpenbach, D-Middleton, argued, it just more of the same.

“At some point, we need a secretary and a Republican majority willing to stand up to the governor and say, ‘We need more money. We need more money for our roads,’” Erpenbach said.

All 11 members who opposed the nomination were Dems. Sens. Janet Bewley, D-Ashland, and Mark Miller, D-Monona, joined Republicans in backing the confirmation.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email