The Senate on Wednesday confirmed Natural Resources Secretary Preston Cole and Children and Families Secretary Emilie Amundson

The vote on Cole was unanimous, while Sen. Lena Taylor, D-Milwaukee, was the only member to oppose Amundson.

Taylor said she has long believed the agency has problems and doesn’t believe Amundson has the qualifications to fix them.

Sen. Tom Tiffany, R-Minocqua, has been a frequent critic of the DNR during his time in office. He said while there are many fine people who work at the agency, there are some who take “liberties with the law.”

“I hope Secretary Cole is up to the task of making sure they are accountable to him and to the taxpayers of the state of Wisconsin,” Tiffany said.

The action leaves four cabinet secretaries who have yet to receive a floor vote: Dawn Crim at DSPS, Sara Meaney at Tourism, Andrea Palm at Health Services, and Craig Thompson at Transportation.

The Senate earlier rejected the appointment of Brad Pfaff as DATCP secretary, and Gov. Tony Evers has yet to announce a replacement.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email