May 12 @ 9:00 am

Students from 13 high schools across the state will compete in the Wisconsin Civics Games state finals — presented by the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation — on Friday, May 12, in Madison.

Fifteen teams, each comprising up to four students, will face off in head-to-head matchups, answering questions about the state budget, local elections, legislative term limits, quorums, freedom of the press and other civics-related issues. Each member of the winning team will receive a $2,000 scholarship to a Wisconsin college or university.

The state finals are open to the public, and media outlets are encouraged to attend. Welcoming remarks will begin at 9 a.m. in Room 411 South. Speakers include Gov. Tony Evers, Attorney General Josh Kaul, Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Patience D. Roggensack and UW System President Jay O. Rothman. The Games, which will be broadcast on WisconsinEye, are expected to conclude at approximately 3 p.m.

Teams competing in the finals advanced last month from their respective regional competition. More than 160 students from 41 teams participated virtually across five preliminary events. The top three teams from each regional qualified for the finals.

The schools that will be represented at the state finals are:

  • Ashwaubenon High School
  • Big Foot Union High School, Walworth
  • FJ Turner High School, Beloit
  • Green Bay Southwest High School
  • Mineral Point High School
  • New London High School
  • Platteville High School
  • Green Bay Preble High School (two teams)
  • Richland Center High School
  • River Falls High School
  • Seymour Community High School
  • Waunakee High School
  • West Bend East & West High Schools (two teams)

The Wisconsin Civics Games scholarships are funded in part by the generous support of the University of Wisconsin System. Additional support for the Games has been provided by the Evjue Foundation, Wisconsin Counties Association, League of Wisconsin Municipalities, Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, League of Women Voters of Wisconsin, WisconsinEye, Wisconsin Senate Scholars Program, Wisconsin News Tracker and Godfrey & Kahn. Individuals interested in contributing can do so at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email