Contact: Tom Evenson, (608) 266-2839

Madison – Governor Scott Walker presented 15 individuals, businesses, and organizations with the 2016 Governor’s Financial Literacy Award today during a ceremony at the Wisconsin State Capitol. The award honors recipients for their efforts to promote financial literacy in schools, the workplace, and communities throughout the state.

“Personal financial literacy is a life-long skill that helps the citizens of Wisconsin achieve their dreams, expand their opportunities, and ensure financial security for themselves and their families,” Governor Walker said. “Today’s recipients demonstrate strong commitment to strengthening financial literacy and have had a tremendous impact on their communities. Our sincere thanks for your efforts, and we look forward to seeing all you accomplish in the coming years to help move Wisconsin forward.”

The recipients were selected by the Governor’s Council on Financial Literacy from 32 submissions. Each submission was considered based on the following criteria: innovative implementation, demonstrated measurable results, collaboration with partners, and whether the effort was focused on needs-based groups.

2016 Governor’s Financial Literacy Award Recipients:

Individual Category

  •  Olivia Dachel – Tomahawk High School, Tomahawk
  •  Jennifer Guenther – Early$tart = Money$mart, Hartford
  •  Beth Roehl – Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah High School, Elkhart Lake
  •  Connie Umstead – Catholic Charities, Wausau

Organization Category

  •  Brown County Library – Green Bay
  •  Brown County UW-Extension – Green Bay
  •  Economics Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  •  School of Human Ecology, University of Wisconsin-Madison – Madison
  •  Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation GL money$mart Initiative – Madison
  •  Park Bank – Madison
  •  Peoples State Bank – Wausau
  •  Summit Credit Union – Madison

Legacy Category

  •  Rebecca Neumann – University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee
  •  Kelly Ostrander – Altoona High School, Altoona
  •  Cathie Tierney – Community First Credit Union, Appleton

The Legacy Award is presented to an organization, business, or individual whose purpose and heritage is ingrained in sustained financial literacy and capability.

Synopses of the recipients’ efforts can be found on the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) website here.

The Governor’s Council on Financial Literacy was created by Executive Order #24 and held its inaugural meeting in April of 2011. The mission of the Council is to measurably improve the financial literacy of Wisconsin’s citizens.

Council members include:

  •  Chair – William Wilcox, MCE, President of CBM Credit Education Foundation, Inc., Madison
  •  Co-Vice Chair – Lon Roberts, Secretary of the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI)
  •  Co-Vice Chair – Ted Nickel, Commissioner of the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI)
  •  Executive Director – David Mancl, Director of DFI’s Office of Financial Literacy.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email