Milwaukee, WI- The Milwaukee County Democratic Party is proud to announce the election of its new executive board.  Elections were held at the party’s monthly meeting at J&B’s Blue Ribbon Bar and Grill on November 20th.  Christopher Walton was elected the new Chairman of the Democratic Party of Milwaukee County, Nancy Kaplan as Vice Chairwoman. Erica Flynn and Shayla Deacon were elected Membership and Recording Secretary, respectively, while Treasurer Dawn Martin and Correspondent Secretary Nancy Penn were re-elected.
“With so much energy from the people, the Democratic Party is at a turning point here in Wisconsin.”  Chairman Walton said,  “We can either focus the energy that has been created to resist policies coming from the White House while winning elections in 2018, 2019 and 2020, or we can allow it to remain unfocused and directionless.  Either way the energy is out there ready to be used.  Democratic victories in Wisconsin over Governor Walker and for Senator Baldwin will signal that a red Wisconsin is a fluke, not a change in patterns.”
With the election, Christopher Walton becomes the first African American male to chair the county party since the 1980s and the first openly gay man in the position.. He is also the first millennial to attain the position with the county party.
About being so many first in this position he commented, “it’s an honor and a privilege to have the support and respect of so many of my fellow Democrats at this early stage of my life. Being the first African American man since the Reagan era and the first openly LGBT Chair is a lot to carry upon my shoulders but I know I stand on the backs of giants who made this possible and I want to be able to do the same for the generation that will follow mine.”
For more information please contact the Shyla Deacon, Communications Secretary milwaukeedemocrats@gmail about the Democratic Party of Milwaukee County.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email