Contact: Sen. Hansen, 608-266-5670
(Madison)—State Senator Dave Hansen (D-Green Bay) announced today that the Legislature passed a resolution honoring the accomplishments of the UWGB Women’s basketball team this week.  Senate Joint Resolution 29, introduced by Hansen and sponsored by area representatives Eric Genrich and Andre Jacque and area senators Rob Cowles and Frank Lasee, was adopted by both the State Senate and the State Assembly on Tuesday.
“This is a well-deserved honor for great group of young athletes who excelled both on and off the court,” said Hansen.  “I am pleased that my colleagues in the Legislature recognized their accomplishments in this way and I am so proud of our team and our university.”
By defeating Detroit Mercy 64-52 in the championship game of the Horizon League Championship the Phoenix captured their 15th tournament championship in the last 20 seasons and another trip to the NCAA tournament.
“Enough cannot be said about the UWGB women’s program.  They are one of the best programs in the country year in and year out and a great source of pride for our university, our community and our state,” said Hansen who is a UWGB graduate.
UW-Green Bay is one of only three Division I programs that has had a winning record every year since 1981 and by securing their 40th-consecutive winning season this year they now trail only Tennessee (43) for the longest active streak in the nation.
“This is a very exceptional group of young athletes who are well-coached and who have shown us yet again the kind of success that comes from hard work, discipline and team effort.  There is an expectation of greatness at the start of every season and they lived up to that and more.”
Print Friendly, PDF & Email