Contact: Melissa Mulliken, Campaign Director

The Townsend for Judge Campaign has announced its Honorary Campaign Committee, comprised of a distinguished group of Dane County attorneys, community leaders, and elected officials.

Honorary Co-Chairs of the group are Nia Enemuoh-Trammell, an attorney and administrative law judge, and David Clarenbach, a former legislator and a pioneer in LGBT rights.

Marilyn Townsend, the municipal judge for Shorewood Hills and an attorney with 35 years of experience, is running for the Dane County Circuit Court Branch 1 seat, once held by Judge John Markson, who retired in June 2017. The non-partisan election will be held in April 2018.

Already, the Townsend campaign has amassed over 425 public endorsements from judges, attorneys, elected officials, and community leaders.

“Over the decades I’ve worked alongside Marilyn, she has always been a leader in efforts to advance equality and achieve justice,” Mr. Clarenbach said. “She has a strong sense of fairness, a tireless work ethic, and a deep commitment to making the world a better, more just, place.  She will serve all the people of Dane County as a conscientious, and impartial County judge. I am looking forward to serving as honorary co-chair of her campaign and doing all I can to help elect her.”

“Marilyn has the qualities a judge should have. She has exceptional legal skills and has argued, and won, in our Supreme Court. She is a municipal judge, who has shown herself to be fair and impartial in overseeing and hearing over 3,000 cases. She has the intellect, the independence, the experience, and the temperament to handle the significant responsibilities of serving all the people of Dane County. I am pleased to take on the role as honorary co-chair Marilyn’s campaign,” said Ms. Enemuoh-Trammell.

Members of the Townsend for Judge Honorary Campaign Committee are:

Jair Alvarez


Jon Axelrod


Carousel Bayrd

Dane County Supervisor

Ralph Cagle

Attorney, Past President, State Bar of Wisconsin

David Clarenbach, Co-Chair

Former legislator and LGBT pioneer

Frances Huntley Cooper

Former Fitchburg Mayor

John Imes

Shorewood Village Board Member

Rebecca Kemble

Madison Alder

Kathleen Garvey McNeil


Dave Newby

President Emeritus, Wisconsin AFL-CIO

Michele Ritt

Dane County Supervisor

Bob Salov

Dane County Supervisor

Eric Schulenburg


Vicky Selkowe


Jeff Spitzer Resnick


Shelia  Stubbs

Dane County Supervisor

Nia Enemuoh-Trammell, Co-chair

Attorney and administrative law judge



Print Friendly, PDF & Email