Contact: Mark Bednar202-738-0744

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Sean Duffy (R-WI), a member of the Congressional Task Force on Economic Growth in Puerto Rico, today released the following statement to congratulate the people of Puerto Rico for 100 years of United States citizenship:

“Congratulations to the people of Puerto Rico for 100 years of American citizenship. Though the Island currently faces economic hardship, all Americans understand the importance of fixing Puerto Rico’s fiscal crisis and getting the Island’s economy back on track so that the next 100 years are prosperous for all Puerto Ricans.”


The Jones-Shafroth Act was signed by President Wilson on March 2, 1917. It granted United States citizenship to anyone born in Puerto Rico on or after April 25, 1898.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email