WASHINGTON, D.C. – Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI) led a letter with 41 House Democrats to the U.S. Office of Government Ethics (OGE) urging a review of potential ethics violations concerning Kellyanne Conway’s recent public comments encouraging Americans to purchase items from the fashion line produced by President Trump’s daughter, Ivanka Trump.

In the letter, the Members of Congress state:

“Across the government, federal employees are expected to be held to a high standard of ethics. As a federal employee, Kellyanne Conway appears to have clearly violated these standards with her recent comments. It is especially troubling that Kellyanne Conway appears to have used her position of power in the White House to directly enrich the Trump family through Ivanka Trump’s fashion line. Such a blatant disregard for federal law and ethics standards set for public servants undermines public faith in our government.

“We encourage you to use your authority Congress granted your office under the Ethics in Government Act of 1978, as amended, to examine the blatant and inappropriate remarks made by Kellyanne Conway immediately and ensure members of the Trump Administration do not continue to use their positions of power to enrich members of the Trump family.”

The letter to U.S. Office of Government Ethics was signed by Mark Pocan (D-WI), John Sarbanes (D-MD), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Ted W. Lieu (D-CA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM), Betty McCollum (D-MN), James P. McGovern (D-MA), Gwendolynne S. Moore (D-WI), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Jared Polis (D-CO), David Price (D-NC), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Bradley S. Schneider (D-IL), Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH), Darren Soto (D-FL), Mark Takano (D-CA), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Donald S. Beyer (D-VA), Brendan F. Boyle (D-PA), Earl Blumeneauer (D-OR), David N. Cicilline (D-RI), Katherine Clark (D-MA), Steve Cohen (D-TN), John K. Delaney (D-MD), Val Demings (D-FL), Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA), Theodore E. Deutch (D-FL), Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (D-GA), Jared Huffman (D-CA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Bill Keating (D-MA), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Brenda L. Lawrence (D-MI), Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), and Nydia Velázquez (D-NY).

The text of the letter is below and an electronic copy can be found here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email