CONTACT: Lori Getter || 608-242-3239

MADISON, Wis. — Local governments and private non-profit agencies that sustained damage during the June flooding in northwest Wisconsin are encouraged to attend briefings this week to learn about applying for federal disaster assistance.

Earlier this month, Governor Walker announced that six Wisconsin counties were approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency for disaster assistance to help with costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures and damage to public infrastructure such as roads and bridges. The counties in the declaration are Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Clark, Douglas and Iron.

Teams of specialists from Wisconsin Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will explain how state and local agencies and certain private non-profit groups can apply for federal Public Assistance (PA) to help recover from flooding. Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work; 25 percent is shared equally between state and local applicants.    The PA program is not for businesses or homeowners.

The applicant briefings will be held at the following times and locations:

Wednesday – August 22, 2018

Clark County – 1:00 – 3:00 pm

Clark County Courthouse

5th Floor County Board Room

517 Court Street

Neillsville, WI 54456


Iron County – 2:00 – 4:00 pm

Hurley City Hall, Meeting Room

405 5th Avenue North

Hurley, WI 54534


Thursday – August 23, 2018
Douglas County – 10:00 – 12:00pm
Douglas County Government Center, Rm 270
1316 N. 14th Street
Superior, WI 54880

Bayfield County – 9:00 – 11:00 am
Bayfield County Courthouse – Emergency Operations Center
117 East 6th Street
Washburn, WI 54891

Ashland County – 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Morse Town Hall
402 2nd Ave
Mellen, WI 54546

Burnett County – 3:00 – 5:00 pm
Burnet County Government Center, Room 165
7410 County Road K
Siren, WI 54872

Print Friendly, PDF & Email