Contact: Amy Hasenberg, (608) 266-2839
Gov. Walker: Honors 17 female business leaders at 2018 Trailblazer Awards Ceremony
MADISON – Governor Scott Walker recognized the achievements of Wisconsin’s female business leaders today at the 2018 Governor’s Trailblazer Awards for Women in Business ceremony at the Wisconsin State Capitol.

“Wisconsin’s economy continues to thrive thanks to the accomplishments of women from across the state,” said Governor Walker. “These exemplary business leaders are a big reason why Wisconsin has a record-low unemployment rate and more people working than ever before. Their leadership is helping move our state forward.”

Trailblazer awards recognize the rich legacy of women’s business ownership in Wisconsin and highlight the positive impact it has on Wisconsin’s economy. This year, the Trailblazer Awards program has launched the Forward Award – recognizing majority woman-owned businesses with over 100 employees. According to the U.S. Small Business Administration, fewer than one-percent of women-owned businesses nationwide have 100 or more employees.

2018 Governor’s Trailblazer Awards for Women in Business:

COLUMBIA COUNTY Juliet Nowak Managing Owner Angels Loving Care, Inc. Columbus | Special Recognition
DANE COUNTY Mary Beth Growney Selene Founder & President Ryan Signs, Inc. Madison | Pioneer Award

Kim M. Lobdell, P.E. President KL Engineering, Inc. Madison | Pioneer Award

Jocelyn Riley President Her Own Words, LLC Madison | Pioneer Award

Charlene Blohm President & CEO C. Blohm & Associates, Inc. (CB&A) Monona | Pioneer Award

EAU CLAIRE COUNTY Nancy Orth Owner Starr’s Sister Salon Eau Claire | Pioneer Award
MANITOWOC COUNTY Lynn Seidl-Babcock, RN BSN Owner & Administrator HomeCare Health Services & Hospice

and Manitowoc HomeCare Manitowoc | Forward & Pioneer Award

Mary Floyd Owner Country Styler St. Nazianz | Pioneer Award

MILWAUKEE COUNTY  Erica Herrera President & Owner EFH Trucking LLC | Special Recognition

Anne K. Maedke, DC, DABCI Owner Maedke Chiropractic Center Milwaukee | Pioneer Award

Jane A. Svinicki President Svinicki Association Management Inc. Milwaukee | Pioneer Award

OZAUKEE COUNTY Laurie W. Ziegler Managing Member Sass Accounting, LLC Saukville | Pioneer Award
POLK COUNTY Kathleen Gionis Owner Gionis & Murtaugh Law Office, LLC St. Croix Falls | Pioneer Award
ROCK COUNTY Diane Everson Publisher The Edgerton Reporter Edgerton | Pioneer Award
WAUKESHA COUNTY Angela Goff Chmura Owner Goff’s Collision Repair Centers Waukesha | Forward Award
WINNEBAGO COUNTY Tammy Dannhoff Owner Kids Are Us Family Child Care Oshkosh | Pioneer Award

Diane Penzenstadler President & Owner 44° North Advertising & Design, LLC Oshkosh | Pioneer Award

To-date, 88 Wisconsin women-owned businesses, across 28 Wisconsin counties, have been recognized with Governor’s Trailblazer Awards.

Forward Awards

New this year – honors the owners of majority women-owned businesses with over 100 employees. According to the U.S. Small Business Administration, fewer than one-percent of women-owned businesses nationwide have 100 or more employees. Nationally, two-thirds of all female- and male-owned businesses with employees (other than the owner) have fewer than five employees; over 90 percent have fewer than 20.

Pioneer Awards

Honor the owners of majority women-owned Wisconsin businesses, that have been in continuous operations for the past 25 years or more. Women who started and sustained businesses when there were few resources or role models to do so, and who continue to succeed today.

Special Recognition Awards

Through a partnership with the Wisconsin Women’s Business Initiative Corporation (WWBIC) – honors women, who through their trailblazing entrepreneurial spirit – evidenced by business innovation and success, overcoming obstacles, and a personal commitment to giving back to their industry and community – found their path to business ownership.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email