Contact: Amy Hasenberg, (608) 266-2839
Gov. Walker: “This rebate and sales tax holiday help Wisconsin families with the costs of raising children.”
WAUKESHA – Governor Scott Walker today signed Wisconsin’s $100-per-child tax rebate and August sales tax holiday into law at Blain’s Farm & Fleet in Waukesha, and he will visit Shopko in Ashwaubenon, Mills Fleet Farm in Menomonie, and Kohl’s in Onalaska later today to hold ceremonial signings. The bill creates a $100-per-child tax rebate for every dependent child living at home under the age of 18 as of December 31, 2017, and an August back-to-school sales tax holiday on school-related items. Governor Walker issued a partial veto to the legislation which expands the duration of the sales tax holiday from two days in August to five days in August, August 1 – 5, 2018.
“This rebate and sales tax holiday will help Wisconsin families with the costs of raising children,” Governor Walker said. “A couple hundred dollars more in the family budget could really make a difference, particularly when getting ready for the next school year. It could mean a new pair of shoes, a winter coat, activity fees at school, or a co-pay at the doctor or dentist. We are giving this money back to the hardworking taxpayers because it is their money to begin with, and we want them to spend it on their priorities, not Madison’s priorities.”
Anyone who is a resident of the State of Wisconsin is eligible to receive $100 for every dependent child living at home under the age of 18 as of December 31, 2017. Beginning May 15, 2018, through July 2, 2018, eligible citizens can claim their $100-per-child tax rebate on a Department of Revenue website that will be announced prior to May 15. Please note claims cannot be submitted prior to May 15. Those who claim the rebate will receive the money before school starts this fall and have the option to receive it through a check in the mail or direct deposit.
Along with the child tax rebate, the legislation creates a back-to-school sales tax holiday in August. Governor Walker’s partial veto of the legislation expands the duration of the holiday to a total of five days, August 1 – 5, 2018. This means the state sales tax will not be charged for those days on school supplies where each item is $75 or less, clothing where each item is $75 or less, computers where each item is $750 or less, and computer supplies where each item is $250 or less.
“This sales tax holiday will provide additional relief to parents and grandparents as their children go back to school in the fall,” continued Governor Walker. “As the parents of two sons, Tonette and I know these back-to-school items can really add up, and we also know that every little bit helps.”
Governor Walker thanked the Legislature for passing this legislation with bipartisan support. The bill passed the Senate on a vote of 17-15 and was concurred by the Assembly on a vote of 59-31. It is Act 367.
A copy of Governor Walker’s veto message is here.