CONTACT: Alyson Leahy | 715.218.0194 |

WAUSAU, Wis. – Alyson Leahy, Marathon County Board Supervisor and young professional, announced her candidacy today for the Wisconsin State Assembly in the 85th Assembly District.

“As a young working person, I know that the key to a thriving economy is a vibrant workforce. Younger residents of the 85th Assembly District are leaving the area for opportunities elsewhere, which slows our local economy and reduces resources,” said Leahy. “The job market is competitive right now, and it is growing more apparent that we need to do more to attract young workers and families to the area – a marketing campaign is not enough. We must focus on creating jobs that provide living wages and benefits, so that people can afford to stay in this community.”

A life-long Wisconsinite and a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Platteville, she moved to Wausau from southwestern Wisconsin with her husband, Chad, in 2010. She currently serves on the Marathon County Board, representing the people of District 11 in Wausau. Leahy works as a copywriter at Footlocker/Eastbay. Previously, she worked as a graphic designer for The City Pages and within the customer service department at SUN Printing. She is the co-founder of the Wausau Makers Market Co., a non-profit pop-up market that aims to provide space for artists and makers to sell their products, and connect with community members and fellow artists.

“My husband and I are proud to call this district home, and I will represent the people well,” said Leahy. “My background in marketing and communication means I know how to listen, and I am ready to hear from you. I don’t want to be one voice in Madison, but the voice and the values of the whole district. I look forward to meeting and talking with the people of the 85th.”

Contact the candidate and stay informed by visiting; details regarding a campaign kickoff party to come.

Wisconsin’s 85th Assembly District encompases the Cities of Wausau and Schofield; the Villages of Hatley, Elderon and Rothschild; and the Townships of Bevent, Easton, Franzen, Norrie, Reid, Ringle and Weston.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email