Kirsten Allen
[email protected]

MADISON – Today, Tim Burns, prominent Madison attorney and former candidate for Wisconsin Supreme Court, announced his endorsement of Mahlon Mitchell for governor.

“Mahlon is a true progressive leader equipped with vision and character to lead our state into the future,” said Burns. “His lifelong commitment to serving his community is proof that he will lead the charge in advancing social and economic justice in order to make our state more equitable. Under a Mitchell Administration, no Wisconsinite– black or white, woman or man, young or old, rural or urban, poor or wealthy– will be left behind. Now is the time for Democrats to rally behind a candidate with a progressive agenda that can bring together working people across the political spectrum and create lasting change. I believe that candidate is Mahlon Mitchell.”

Mitchell thanked Burns for his support and pledged to ensure a “progressive, productive and pragmatic” Administration.

“Tim understands that Wisconsin has a fierce urgency to put new leadership in our statehouse and I am grateful for his support and confidence,” said Mitchell. “The livelihood and future of this state is at stake in this election and Tim’s endorsement is proof that Wisconsinites no matter age, race or party affiliation are ready to get rid of Scott Walker and his self-serving, divide-and-conquer politics.”

In a hard-fought campaign for Supreme Court, Burns garnered endorsements from progressive heavy hitters that included Our Revolution, Working Families Party and Citizen Action of Wisconsin. This afternoon, Burns and Mitchell will host a digital town hall to discuss the endorsement and Mitchell’s path to victory in August and November.

Today’s endorsement joins Mahlon Mitchell’s growing list. Full endorsement list includes:

Congresswoman Gwen Moore
Dane County Sheriff Dave Mahoney
Wisconsin AFL-CIO
International Association of Fire Fighters
Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
SEIU Wisconsin State Council
AFSCME Council 32
United Food and Commercial Workers Local 1473
International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers District 10
United Steelworkers District 2
International Union of Operating Engineers Local 139, Local 420
Amalgamated Transit Union Local 998
Milwaukee Common Council President Ashanti Hamilton
State Senator LaTonya Johnson, SD-06
Representative David Crowley, AD-17
Representative Leon Young, AD-16
Representative Jason Fields, AD-11
Former State Rep. Barbara Toles (AD-17)
Milwaukee County Supervisor Marcelia Nicholson (5th District)
Milwaukee County Supervisor Supreme Moore Omokunde (10th District)
Milwaukee County Supervisor Willie Johnson, Jr. (13th District)
Milwaukee Alderwoman Chantia Lewis (9th District)
Glendale Alderwoman Tomika Vukovic (1st District)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email