Media Contact:
Michelle Marshel, Director of External Affairs
202-434-8024 or [email protected]                                                                                                            

WASHINGTON – The National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) today announced the appointment of Chairpersons to its Policy Committees of the membership. These individuals, selected from across the U.S. to serve as Committee Chairpersons, are as follows:

  • Kevin Carlson, Chief Financial Officer, North Carolina Department of Commerce, will serve as the Administration and Finance Committee Chairperson
  • Janelle Guthrie, Communications Director, Washington State Employment Security Department, will serve as the Communications Committee Chairperson
  • Richard McPherson, Executive Director, Oklahoma Employment Security Commission, will serve as the Employment and Training Committee Chairperson
  • Jackie Turner, Deputy Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Employment Security, will serve as the Equal Opportunity Committee Chairperson
  • Daryl Bassett, Director, Arkansas Department of Workforce Services, will serve as the Workforce and Labor Market Information Committee Chairperson
  • Tim Evans, Deputy Commissioner/COO, Georgia Department of Labor, will serve as the Technology Committee Chairperson
  • Ron Marino, Assistant Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, will serve as the Unemployment Insurance Committee Chairperson
  • Katie Houghlin, Director of Unemployment Insurance, Kentucky Office of Employment and Training, will serve as the Unemployment Insurance Interstate Benefits Subcommittee Chairperson
  • Beth Townsend, Executive Director, Iowa Workforce Development, will serve as the Veterans Committee Chairperson

“NASWA is fortunate to have this group of highly capable and innovative leaders willing to serve as committee chairpersons,” said NASWA Executive Director Scott B. Sanders. “We are eager to tap into the experience and expertise each of these individuals brings to the table.”

NASWA Committee Chairpersons assumed their corresponding positions upon their acceptance of appointment following the 82nd Annual Workforce Summit and UI Directors’ Conference held recently in Birmingham, Alabama. Their terms will last for one year.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email