Contact: Rep. James Edming
(608) 266-7506

Grants awarded to Holy Rosary Grade School, and the Athens, Ladysmith, and Medford School Districts

MADISON – Representative James Edming (R-Glen Flora) congratulated four schools and school districts in the 87th Assembly District for receiving School Safety Grants from the Department of Justice (DOJ) this week.  The DOJ announced that the Ladysmith School District will receive $61,080,Medford Area Public School District will receive $84,135, Athens School District will receive $61,437, and Holy Rosary Catholic Grade School in Medford will receive $18,974.  This is in addition to grants that were awarded to the Winter and Birchwood School Districts last month.

“I am thrilled that more schools and school districts in our area have been awarded School Safety Grants in this recent round of awards,” said Rep. Edming.  “This grant money will provide these schools with needed resources to improve safety for their students, teachers, and staff.”

The $100 million School Safety Grant Award Program, created by 2017 Act 143, is being administered by the Office of School Safety at the Wisconsin Department of Justice.  Over $20 million has already been awarded to school districts statewide, with more expected to be awarded in the future.

“Each session there are a few legislative accomplishments that stand out and the creation of the School Safety Grant program is certainly one of them this session,” said Rep. Edming.  “I am so proud to have backed the creation of this important program, and I hope to see additional schools in the 87thAssembly District awarded grants in the future.”

A full list of all 735 schools and school districts that have submitted School Safety Grant applications can be found on the DOJ website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email