Contact: Rep. Amy Loudenbeck
[email protected]
(608) 266-9967

Madison – Today, a bill authored by state Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (R-Clinton) at the request of Governor Scott Walker passed the Joint Committee on Finance with a unanimous vote.

Assembly Bill 872 (AB 872) will expand the existing Career and Technical Education (CTE) Incentive Grant to include a specialized Public Safety Certification Incentive Grant program for high school students.

In October of 2017, Governor Walker launched his Rural Agenda focusing on comprehensively addressing the concerns of rural communities, including an initiative to reward high schools and students for successful completion of EMT or Firefighter training.

“Rural Fire and EMS Departments in Wisconsin and other states have struggled in recent years with volunteer shortages,” said Loudenbeck. “AB 872 will help restock the volunteer fire and EMS worker pipelines by rewarding high school students who earn certain public safety credentials.”

AB 872 creates a new Public Safety Certification Incentive Grant Completion Award which provides a $500 student award payment upon successful completion of Firefighter I, Firefighter II or EMT Basic. In addition, school districts would receive up to $1,000 when these students graduate, consistent with the existing Career and Technical Education Incentive Grant program.

“The $500 award payment to the student will not only incentivize participation, but also help offset out-of-pocket costs for books, exam fees, clothing and travel associated with the course,” said Loudenbeck.

AB 872 passed unanimously out of the Assembly Committee on Workforce Development and the Joint Committee on Finance. It is tentatively scheduled for a vote in the Assembly on Thursday, February 15th.

For more information about AB 872 click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email