Today, Congresswoman Gwen Moore (WI-04) introduced H.R. 7142, the National De-Escalation of Violence and Community Safety Training Act, which would establish a program allowing eligible entities such as churches, schools, community colleges, or state and local governments to provide de-escalation training to prevent and reduce violence in our communities.

“At a time when political, racial, and socio-economic divides are at such extremes, the promotion of de-escalation techniques are more essential than ever. I am proud to lead my Democratic colleagues in introducing this groundbreaking bill to help defuse conflict, promote peace, and help prevent violence in our communities,” said Congresswoman Moore. “This kind of widespread and accessible de-escalation training could change the game when it comes to troublesome power dynamics in our society. The concept of de-escalation needs to apply to more than just police training. We’ve got to give our kids and our community members the tools necessary to maintain a safe and civil society. This bill is a great first step.”

“We applaud Congresswoman Moore for her leadership and vision to promote De-Escalation of Violence Training, by introducing H.R. 7142. If enough Americans can learn the principals and methods of “De-Escalation of Violence Training” we believe citizens can help diffuse unexpected, potentially volatile situations before law enforcement can get there,” said Dr. Stephanie Myers, National Co-Chair, Black Women for Positive Change. “If enough people in schools, hospitals, recreations centers, families, and workplaces can learn how to de-escalate the anger and temper of individuals who pose a violent risk, we believe lives can be saved. We call on Members of Congress and the Senate to support Congresswoman Moore’s visionary legislation. Innovative approaches are urgently needed to protect our communities from rising threats of violence.”

This bill is endorsed by Black Women for Positive Change and cosponsored by Reps. Andre Carson, Steve Cohen, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Pramila Jayapal, Sheila Jackson Lee, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Frederica S. Wilson, Ro Khanna, Hank Johnson, and Marcia Fudge.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email