For more information, contact:

WisDOT Office of Public Affairs

608/266-3581, [email protected]

Governor Walker declares State of Emergency


On August 21, 2018 Governor Walker declared a State of Emergency in response to severe weather and flooding in Dane County.

On August 28, 2018 Governor Walker declared a state of emergency in response to severe weather and flooding in Fond du Lac, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Vernon, and Washington counties.

As a result, and as provided in federal law, carriers and drivers of commercial motor vehicles while in the process of responding to this emergency are exempt from federal and Wisconsin hours of service requirements in Part 395 of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations and in Chapters Trans 325 and 327 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code. This exemption applies to all highways in Wisconsin, including the national system of interstate and defense highways.

For updates on current road conditions, traffic incidents, and flooding updates check 511 Wisconsin.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email