Milwaukee general dentist Dr. Monica Hebl receives lifetime achievement honor

WEST ALLIS, WIS., Nov. 15, 2018 – Dr. Monica Hebl, a general dentist who lives in Wauwatosa and practices in Milwaukee, is the 2018 Wisconsin Dental Association Lifetime Achievement Award recipient in recognition of her significant contributions of time, energy and expertise to organized dentistry.

Hebl was among 17 individuals presented with a Pyramid of Pride Award by the 3,000-member statewide professional dental organization Nov. 9 at the Blue Harbor Resort and Conference Center in Sheboygan, Wis. A WDA member for 36 years and the state association’s speaker of the House of Delegates since 2013, Hebl has shown a continued commitment to the dental profession, mentorship and her practice. She has served in multiple capacities in organized dentistry, including as local chair of the WDA and WDA Foundation Mission of Mercy event held in the Milwaukee area in June 2018, past-president of the WDA and Greater Milwaukee Dental Association, Greater Milwaukee Region trustee and on numerous committees.

Hebl has also served as an alternate and delegate to the American Dental Association House of Delegates and as member of the ADA Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations. Hebl has been recognized previously for her many contributions to the dental profession with four Pyramid of Pride Awards: Political Action (2005), President’s Award of Honor (2006), Outstanding Leadership in Mentoring (2013) and Media Relations (2016). A Marquette University School of Dentistry graduate, Hebl is a fellow of the American College of Dentists, International College of Dentists and the Pierre Fauchard Academy.

Dr. Christine Tempas, a retired general dentist in Sheboygan Falls, is this year’s WDA Foundation Philanthropic Award recipient. She served on the WDA Foundation board of directors from 1993 until her retirement in 2016, as a director, treasurer and Fundraising Committee chair. One of three 2018 Community Outreach Award recipients is general  dentist.

Dr. Mariah Murphy of Clinton actively promotes oral health throughout her community using programs such as Give Kids A Smile® and by visiting area grade schools and classrooms.

Dr. Eric Ruiz, a general dentist in Oconomowoc, also received a Community Outreach Award. Recognizing a special community need, he and his wife have the first, dementia-friendly business, Lakeland Family Dental, in Waukesha County. He is also is a board member of the Lake Area Free Clinic.

Dr. Robert Schwade, a retired general dentist in Delafield, has also received a Community Outreach Award for his involvement with the Lake Area Free Clinic. After serving on the task force to initiate the dental clinic, he now serves as volunteer dental director.

This year’s Media Awareness Award recipients are Shamane Mills of Wisconsin Public Radio and WISN TV. Since 2007, Mills has regularly reached out to the WDA for information on dental topics and recently produced a three-part dental access series which highlights dentists who are participating in the statewide dental Medicaid pilot and the positive impact that increased reimbursement has on reducing barriers to care.

WISN TV has provided excellent coverage of oral health topics in Wisconsin. Most recently, the station’s coverage of the 2018 Mission of Mercy event began the night before the clinic opened and continued into Friday with multiple live on-site reports. Once the MOM clinic was over, the station named the dental and community volunteers as “Persons of the Week.”

Dr. Paula Crum, a periodontist in Green Bay, received a Media Relations Award for her ongoing willingness to make time for media interviews. Most recently, she was interviewed regarding the American Dental Association’s new policy on opioids.

Dr. Lynn Lepak-McSorley, a general dentist in Milwaukee, also received a Media Relations Award for continually giving her time and expertise as a WDA media spokesperson. During the 2018 Mission of Mercy event, Lepak-McSorley chaired the event and assisted the WDA public relations team in identifying quality patient and volunteer stories in response to media requests.

Dr. Sarah Blair, a general dentist in West Allis, and Dr. Estella Irelan, a general dentist in Milwaukee, both received New Dentist Leadership Awards for their contributions to organized dentistry since graduating dental school in 2013.

Dr. Glenn Gequillana, a general dentist in Milwaukee and an instructor at Marquette University School of Dentistry Advanced Care Clinic, received the Outstanding Leadership in Mentoring Award. He works tirelessly with dental students and new dentists to help them obtain real-world experiences and have successful, early career transitions.

The Political Action Award was given to Dr. James Luetzow, a general dentist in Racine. Luetzow has hosted numerous fundraisers for the Wisconsin Dental Political Action Committee and regularly attends WDA Legislative Day.

Dr. Keith Clemence, a general dentist in Hales Corners, Dr. Thomas Kielma, a general dentist in Delafield, Dr. Mary Llanas, a general dentist in Muskego and Dr. Brian Watkins, an endodontist in Franksville, all received WDA Awards of Honor for their legacies of service within organized dentistry and to the dental profession.

The Wisconsin Dental Association has 3,000 member dentists and a number of dental hygienists. With just 3,500 licensed dentists in the state, the WDA is the leading voice for dentistry in Wisconsin.

WDA members are committed to promoting professional excellence and quality oral health care. Established in 1870, the WDA is headquartered in West Allis and has a legislative office in Madison. The WDA is affiliated with the American Dental Association – the largest and oldest national dental association in the world. For more information, call 414-276-4520, visit and find us on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Flickr, YouTube,
Instagram and LinkedIn.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email