Madison, Wis. (June 21, 2019) – Chief Judge James A. Morrison, Marinette County Circuit Court, has been selected by his fellow chief judges from across the state to chair the Committee of Chief Judges, effective Aug. 1.

Morrison will replace outgoing committee chair, Chief Judge Maxine A. White, Milwaukee County Circuit Court, who is wrapping up a one-year term at the post.

“I would like to thank Chief Judge White for her skillful leadership of this vital committee, and I look forward to working with Chief Judge Morrison as he steps into the role,” said Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack. “The Committee of Chief Judges is a crucial part of our administrative leadership team and helps guide the work of circuit courts statewide,” she said.

Morrison is chief judge of the Eighth Judicial Administrative District, which includes Brown, Door, Kewaunee, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, and Waupaca counties.

Morrison was appointed to the Marinette County Circuit Court in 2012. He was elected to a six-year term in 2013 and re-elected in 2019. He previously worked as an attorney in private practice.

“I am honored to have been selected for this role by my colleagues, and I will rely on their knowledge and support to help keep the circuit courts running smoothly,” Morrison said.

Morrison serves on the Supreme Court Finance Committee, the executive and legislative committees of the Judicial Conference, and is former chair of the Board of Bar Examiners. Morrison is one of six circuit court judges statewide who handle cases in the Wisconsin court system’s commercial docket pilot program.

White will continue to serve on the committee as chief judge of the First Judicial Administrative District (Milwaukee County). She was first appointed chief judge in 2015 and was re-appointed to two-year terms in 2017 and 2019. White was first appointed to the Milwaukee County Circuit Court in 1992. She was elected in 1993, and has been re-elected four times.

The committee chair presides over approximately seven committee meetings per year. The Committee of Chief Judges is composed of one chief judge from each of the state’s nine judicial administrative districts.

Working with the district court administrator, chief judges are responsible for the administration of judicial business in circuit and municipal courts within their respective districts. As needed, the chief judges convene subcommittees to consider administrative issues, address problems, and find solutions to improve operation of the trial courts.

With the exception of the First Judicial Administrative District, where the chief judge is a full-time administrator, chief judges and their deputies maintain court calendars in addition to handling administrative matters.

More information about the Committee of Chief Judges, including a list of current chief judges and deputy chief judges, can be found here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email