Consumers First: Alliance to make the healthcare system work for everyone to hold tele-briefing

CONTACTS:

Lisa Holland | Families USA | 202-626-0640 | lholland@familiesusa.org

Natalia Perez Santos | AFSCME| NPerezSantos@afscme.org

Marybeth Sharpe |Pacific Business Group on Health | msharpe@pbgh.org

Cristi Allen | American Academy of Family Physicians | callen@aafp.org

Jason Hammersla | American Benefits Council | 202-289-6700 | jhammersla@abcstaff.org

Jennifer Chang | American Federation of Teachers | 202-585-4360 | jchang@aft.org

Michele Kayal | First Focus | MicheleK@firstfocus.org

Group is launching a new effort to fundamentally change the U.S. health care system’s economic incentives to provide affordable, high-quality health care for America’s families

Washington, D.C. – Consumers First: The Alliance to Make the Health Care System Work for Everyone, representing seven national organizations will hold a media tele-briefing on Tuesday, May 14 at 11:00 a.m. Eastern. During the tele-briefing, the Alliance will release its Call to Action to unify unrepresented voices to solve economic distortions in the nation’s health care payment and delivery system so the best health and health care are affordable and accessible for every person in the country.

The alliance members (Families USA, American Academy of Family Physicians, American Benefits Council, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, American Federation of Teachers, First Focus and Pacific Business Group on Health), want to ensure that the health care system’s economic incentives provide affordable, high-quality health care for all of America’s families, children, seniors and adults. The call to action identifies six policy areas that are ripe for a consumer-focused movement to address the fundamental distortions in the U.S. health care system that drive low-value care.

Tele-briefing Details

Title: “Consumers First: The Alliance to Make the Health Care System Work for Everyone – A CALL TO ACTION”

Date: Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Time: 11:00 a.m. Eastern

Speakers:

  • Frederick Isasi, Executive Director, Families USA
  • Elizabeth Mitchell, President and CEO, Pacific Business Group on Health
  • Randi Weingarten, President, American Federation of Teachers
  • Shaun O’Brien, Assistant Director, Research and Collective Bargaining Services, AFSCME
  • Ilyse Schuman, Senior Vice President, Health Policy, ABC

To join the call, please dial 888-205-6786 and enter passcode 426064

If you have any questions, please contact Lisa Holland at Families USA, 202-626-0640, lholland@familiesusa.org.

SHARE