Contact: [email protected] or 608-219-7443

MADISON — Gov. Tony Evers today announced 29 appointments to serve on the Governor’s Task Force on Caregiving. The goal of the Task Force is to analyze strategies to attract and retain a strong direct care workforce and support families providing caregiving supports and services.

“Caregivers provide critically important care and services, and it is essential that we recognize the important contributions these unsung heroes make to families in Wisconsin,” said Gov. Evers. “These Task Force members bring a wealth of knowledge and personal experience that will be essential in helping us improve our direct care system while developing a plan to support and retain our caregivers so we can ensure folks in our communities have the resources and they need to live and age with dignity across our state.”

Serving on the Task Force will be:

Sen. Kathy Bernier – Wisconsin State Senator, Chippewa Falls
Sen. Patty Schachtner – Wisconsin State Senator, Somerset
Rep. Chuck Wichgers – Wisconsin State Representative, Muskego
Rep. Deb Kolste – Wisconsin State Representative, Janesville
Stephanie Birmingham – Advocacy Coordinator, Options for Independent Living, Inc., Green Bay
Susan Rosa – Volunteer Leader, Caregiver Challenge, Cable
John Sauer – President/CEO, LeadingAge Wisconsin, Madison
Lisa Schneider – Executive Director, Respite Care Association of Wisconsin, Appleton
Lisa Pugh – State Director, The Arc Wisconsin, Stoughton
Beth Sweeden – Executive Director, Board for People with Developmental Disabilities, Madison
Helen Marks Dicks – Associate State Director for Advocacy, AARP Wisconsin, Madison
Jane Mahoney – Caregiving Specialist, Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources, Madison
Irma Perez – Bilingual Community Services Coordinator, Broadscope Disability Services, Milwaukee
Michael Pochowski – CEO, Wisconsin Assisted Living Association, Madison
Todd Costello – Executive Director, Community Living Alliance, Oregon
Ted Behncke – President, St. Coletta of Wisconsin, Jefferson. Veteran.
LaVerne Jaros – Director, Kenosha County Division of Aging & Disability Services, Pleasant Prairie
Jason Endres – Retired Consumer, Eau Claire
William Crowley – Ombudsman, Disability Rights Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Delores Sallis – Founder, Parent University, Milwaukee
Anne Rabin – Family Caregiver, Pleasant Prairie
Mo Thao-Lee – Co-founder/President, Universal Home Health Care, Inc., Sheboygan
Elsa Diaz-Bautista – Executive Director, Alianza Latina Aplicando Soluciones (ALAS), Whitefish Bay
Margie Steinhoff – Family Caregiver and IRIS Consultant, TMG/Magellan Health, Beaver Dam
Jane Bushnell – Vice President, Knapp’s Development, Inc., Prairie du Chien
Adien Igoni – CEO, Flora Homecare LLC, Glendale
Mike Lauer – Campaign Director, Services Employees International Union, Shorewood
Carol Bogda – Oneida Nation Social Services/Elder Services Coordinator, Green Bay
Sharon Cornell – Caregiver for husband, a veteran, Appleton
In February, Gov. Evers signed Executive Order #11 creating the Task Force on Caregiving. The Department of Health Services will staff and support the Task Force and will work with the Department of Workforce Development to provide data and other technical assistance as necessary.

Executive Order #11 charges Task Force members with developing strategies to attract and retain a strong workforce, improve compensation and other benefits for caregivers, and establish a provider registry to help connect more families to the care they need. Many caregivers are family members or unpaid. The Task Force looks to help address the needs of all caregivers in Wisconsin.

The first meeting of the Governor’s Task Force on Caregiving is scheduled for September 25.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email