Austin Altenburg (Johnson), (202) 224-4751

Allison Green (Peters), (202) 834-2281

WASHINGTON — The Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee advanced four nominees and 14 bills during a committee business meeting Wednesday. The bills, amendments, nominees, and four postal-naming bills were passed by voice vote unless otherwise noted.


1. Jeffrey C. Byard to be Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Department of Homeland Security;

2. Troy D. Edgar to be Chief Financial Officer, U.S. Department of Homeland Security;

3. John M. Barger to be a Governor, U.S. Postal Service;

4. Chad Bungard to be a Member, Merit Systems Protection Board.


1. S. 1867, DHS Countering Unmanned Aircraft Systems Coordinator Act;

2. S. 1877, Government Shutdown Accountability Act (roll call vote 10-2);

· Lankford/Hassan/Johnson/Rosen/Sinema substitute as modified

· Scott amendment (roll call vote 9-5)

· Sinema second degree

3. S. 1869, Secure Federal Leases from Espionage and Suspicious Entanglements Act;

· Peters/Portman substitute

4. S. 1539, Protecting Faith-Based and Nonprofit Organizations From Terrorism Act of 2019;

5. S. 1419, Early Participation in Regulations Act of 2019;

· Lankford substitute

6. S. 1151, Venezuela Contracting Restriction Act;

· Scott substitute

7. S. 1521, a bill to amend section 327 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act to clarify that National Urban Search and Rescue Response System task forces may include Federal employees

8. S. 1004, Securing America’s Ports of Entry Act of 2019

9. S. 1846, State and Local Government Cybersecurity Act of 2019;

· Peters/Portman amendment

10. S. 1874, Bulb Replacement Improving Government with High-Efficient Technology Act of 2019;

· Johnson/Peters substitute

11. S. 979, Federal Advanced Contracts Enhancement Act;

· Peters amendment

12. S. 731, Anti-Border Corruption Improvement Act;

· Johnson amendment

13. S. 734, Internet of Things Cybersecurity Improvement Act of 2019;

· Johnson substitute as modified

14. H.R. 150, Grant Reporting Efficiency and Agreements Transparency Act of 2019.

· Lankford/Peters/Hassan/Enzi substitute

Print Friendly, PDF & Email