The Senate unanimously backed five of Tony Evers’ picks to serve in his cabinet, the first confirmation votes since the guv’s agency heads all began their jobs nine months ago.

Without debate, the Senate voted 33-0 to confirm: Peter Barca at Revenue, Joel Brennan at Administration, Kathy Blumenfeld at Financial Institutions, Kevin Carr at Corrections and Mary Kolar at Veterans Affairs.

The Senate then voted 27-6 to confirm former Dem Rep. Sheldon Wasserman to the Medical Examining Board. The Republicans who voted no were: Dave Craig, of Big Bend; Andre Jacque, of DePere; Chris Kapenga, of Delafield; Steve Nass, of Whitewater; Duey Stroebel, of Saukville; and Tom Tiffany, of Hazelhurst.

There was no debate ahead of the votes.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email