Madison…Speaker Robin Vos (R-Rochester) is announcing a new recognition program for first responders. Wisconsinites including local leaders are asked to submit nominations for the First Responder of the Year award to their state representative before early September. State representatives will each select a district winner who will be recognized during an October floor session as part of First Responders Appreciation Month.

“It’s important that we honor our first responders who serve and protect our communities every single day,” said Speaker Vos. “We appreciate their dedication and would like to express our gratitude for putting their lives on the line for the safety of others.”

Nominations can be directed to the first responder’s state representative.  The nomination can be predicated on a variety of factors including a specific heroic action, a significant professional achievement, community work and/or length of service.

The person nominated can be a police officer or sheriff’s deputy, a firefighter or any level of EMS provider.  It can also be a paid or volunteer public servant.

The Speaker’s Office is coordinating the recognition effort and has asked that a winner from each district be delivered to his office by Friday, September 14th.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email