Tom Sheehan, (608) 261-6640                                     

Madison, Wis. (April 30, 2019) – Justices of the Wisconsin Supreme Court today elected Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack to a third consecutive two-year term as chief justice, effective May 1.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to continue serving in this vital role, alongside six very dedicated and talented justices,” Roggensack said. “I look forward to working with them, as well as my colleagues throughout the Judiciary, to ensure Wisconsin has an effective court system.”

Roggensack was the first justice chosen to serve as chief justice since a 2015 constitutional amendment which provided that the chief justice “shall be elected for a term of 2 years by a majority of the justices then serving on the court.”  Roggensack’s first term as chief justice began on May 1, 2015, and she was re-elected as chief justice in 2017.

Roggensack was first elected to the Wisconsin Supreme Court in 2003, and she was re-elected as a justice in 2013. Prior to serving on the Supreme Court, Roggensack served as a judge on the Wisconsin Court of Appeals from 1996 until 2003.

Pursuant to Article VII, Section 4 (3) of the Wisconsin Constitution, the chief justice of the Supreme Court is the administrative head of the judicial system and exercises administrative authority pursuant to procedures adopted by the Supreme Court.

In this role, the chief justice works with fellow justices, the director of state courts, chief judges and other administrators to ensure the courts operate smoothly and efficiently.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email