MADISON—On Tue, July 16, at 10:30 a.m., in the Assembly Parlor in the State Capitol, Sen. Dave Hansen (D-Green Bay) and Rep. Robyn Vining (D-Wauwatosa) will be introducing their bills to ban gerrymandering in Wisconsin. The companion bills call on Wisconsin to adopt an independent, nonpartisan redistricting process.

Their bills, SB288 and AB303, have the support of Rep. Todd Novak (R-Dodgeville) Rep. Travis Tranel (R-Cuba City) and Rep. Joel Kitchens (R-Sturgeon Bay). This bipartisan support is reflected in the Marquette Law School poll earlier this year that showed that 72 percent of Wisconsinites wanted to ban gerrymandering, including 63 of Republicans and 76 percent of Independents.

What’s more, 47 county boards in Wisconsin have passed resolutions calling on the state legislature to ban gerrymandering and adopt independent, nonpartisan redistricting.

At the press conference, Sen. Hansen and Rep Vining will be speaking.

Also giving brief remarks will be:

Sachin Chheda, Director, Fair Elections Project.

Former State Sen. Tim Cullen, Board Chair, Common Cause in Wisconsin.

Erin Grunze, Executive Director, League of Women Voters of Wisconsin.

Matt Rothschild, Executive Director, Wisconsin Democracy Campaign

Print Friendly, PDF & Email