Dec. 23, 2019
For Immediate Release
Contact: Jeff Mayers, president,,, 608-212-9422

–THE WISPOLITICOS OF 2019: Evers, Johnson–

Gov. Tony Evers and U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson are the WisPoliticos of 2019.

Evers, a Democrat in his first year as Wisconsin’s chief executive, and Johnson, a Republican finishing his ninth year in the U.S. Senate, were selected by viewers and subscribers in mid-December.

While Evers finished well ahead of U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin on the Dem side of the ballot (42.6 percent to 18.8 percent), Johnson narrowly won the vote. The Oshkosh Republican edged Assembly Speaker Robin Vos and Green Bay-area Congressman Mike Gallagher. Johnson recorded 20.3 percent to 19.5 percent each for Vos and Gallagher.

It’s the second time Evers and Johnson have been voted as WisPoliticos.

The WisPolitico awards were created as part of’s 10th anniversary in 2010.

Subscribers and viewers also voted in mid-December for the top Republican and Democratic WisPoliticos of the past 20 years.

Those winners will be announced in January 2020 as part of the publication of the 20th-anniversary edition of the Directory & Almanac. The annual print publication will be available by mid-January. To purchase individual or bulk copies, contact:

Here are the past WisPoliticos:

2018: Tony Evers and Bryan Steil
2017: Paul Ryan and Gordon Hintz
2016: Ron Johnson and Chris Abele

The top Republican of the past 15 years: Scott Walker.
The top Democrat of the past 15 years: Russ Feingold.

2015: Paul Ryan and Chris Abele
2014: Scott Walker and Mark Burke
2013: Scott Walker and Mark Burke
2012: Scott Walker and Tammy Baldwin
2011: Scott Walker and the “Wisconsin 14”
2010: Scott Walker and Ron Kind is a non-partisan news service based in Madison. Launched in 2000, also operates and

Print Friendly, PDF & Email