All four Wisconsin members of the Democratic National Committee — including new Senate Minority Leader Janet Bewley — are seeking new terms with the national party.

The filing deadline is Friday for the new four-year terms. Along with Bewley, the incumbents are: Martha Love, a former state party chair; Khary Penebaker, a businessman who ran for the 5th CD in 2016; and Andrew Werthmann, an Eau Claire alderman.

Bewley, who was elected minority leader after Jennifer Shilling, D-La Crosse, stepped down from the position, said she could handle the responsibilities of both. But she hasn’t made up her mind if she wants to continue as minority leader past the November elections.

The caucus will have a leadership election following the November results.

“It’s something that I accepted quite happily. It’s not what I expected,” Bewley, D-Mason, said of leading the caucus. “This is a period of time to decide what exactly would I want to do past November.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email