Madison – State Senator Alberta Darling is joining area school administrators and elected officials in supporting guidelines for re-opening area schools and getting children back into the classroom. In an effort to share best practices and ideas, Senator Darling coordinated meetings with area lawmakers and superintendents to create a better understanding of the challenges facing local schools.
Senator Darling says the recommendations are a series of guiding principles defined to use as cornerstones of our school districts’ learning plan for the 2020-21 school year as we plan for recovery, reentry, and beyond.
“There is no one-size fits all plan for our schools, but these guidelines outline the priorities of getting kids back to school, back into the classrooms, and back to normalcy. I’ve talked to pediatricians who have universally expressed deep concerns with disruptions in learning, situations at home that relate to mental health and domestic violence, and further widening the achievement gap.”
The first guiding principle is to maintain the health and safety of students and staff. Senator Darling says all recommendations are based around that priority.
“I strongly believe this decision should be made by local officials. I’ve been in contact with every superintendent in my district. I have full confidence in the ability of our district administrators to make wise and informed decisions,” Darling said, “They are consulting with health professionals, parents, and teachers. They will make the best possible decision for their communities. I strongly support their priority of getting children back into the classroom.”
Senator Darling joined several area superintendents including, Todd Bugnacki, Cedarburg School District; Bryan Davis, Shorewood; Jeff Dellutri, Fox Point-Bayside ; Matt Joynt, Mequon-Thiensville School District; Greg Kabara, Nicolet Union High School; Monica Kelsey-Brown, Brown Deer; Dr. Deb Kerr, Immediate Past Brown Deer; Kieth Kriewaldt, Erin School District; Jeff Nelson, Grafton School District; Daren Sievers, Slinger School District; Larry Smalley, Glendale-River Hills; John Thomsen, Whitefish Bay; Tara Villalobos, Holy Hill Area School District; Michael Weber, Port Washington-Saukville School District; as well as State Representatives Jim Ott, Dan Knodl, Janel Brandtjen, and Rick Gundrum in support of the plan.
Senator Darling represents portions of Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha Counties.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email