Madison  Today the state’s chamber, Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, released its Back to Business plan.  The plan provides a path for Wisconsin businesses to reopen based on the type of business and local risk factors.  In response, Senator Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg) issued the following statement:


“The COVID-19 pandemic has caused unprecedented hardship throughout our state.  Tragically, this virus has claimed the lives of more than 260 Wisconsinites, including two in Sheboygan County.”


“However, Wisconsin is also in the midst of an economic crisis.  Since the ‘Stay at Home’ extension was announced, I’ve heard from countless local small businesses including manufacturers, bars, restaurants, hair salons, and many others wondering how they will stay afloat.  According to a survey by UW-Oshkosh, 35% of Wisconsin businesses cannot survive after three months of the current circumstances.


“In addition, our local experience with COVID-19 is very different than other parts of the state.  Sheboygan County has 46 reported COVID-19 cases (9 active), Manitowoc County has 9 cases, and Calumet County has 7 cases.  These three counties account for 1.2% of the total cases reported in Wisconsin.


“The Back to Business Plan is a responsible, regional approach to reopening Wisconsin:

  • Customized:  Assigns risk based on business type as well as the county’s population density, infection rate and healthcare capacity.
  • Data Driven:  Utilizes data from the Wisconsin Department of Health Services and the Wisconsin Hospital Association.
  • Dynamic:  Adjusts risk score based on changes in local conditions.


“Businesses and families throughout the state are suffering.  It is vitally important that we act quickly to establish a science-based plan using public health data to keep Wisconsinites safe while providing a framework for businesses to reopen.  The Back to Business plan appropriately balances these two priorities.”


Senator Devin LeMahieu (R-Oostburg) represents the 9th Senate District, which includes portions of Sheboygan, Manitowoc, and Calumet Counties.  He is a Member of the Joint Committee on Finance.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email