(Madison) – Today, the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities “WAICU” and Wisconsin Technical College System “WTCS” announced a credit transfer agreement.  The agreement encompasses all WTCS schools and 16 WAICU institutions.

On November 21, 2019, Governor Evers signed Assembly Bill 189 into law as Act 46.  Act 46 required WTCS and UW-System to pursue a broader, more comprehensive credit transfer agreement than they currently have.  With the announcement of the WAICU-WTCS agreement, Senator Stroebel and Representative Born had the following comments:

“I applaud WAICU and WTCS for signing a comprehensive credit transfer agreement.  Transparency and certainty in credit transfers saves all parties time, money and frustration.  This agreement is truly a win/win/win for colleges, students and the Wisconsin workforce,” Stroebel said. “Representative Born and I authored 2019 Act 46 to pursue these goals with renewed fervor. I am hopeful WTCS and UW-System, both being public entities with a history of working together, will be able to improve on their credit transfer regime by providing even more opportunities and flexibilities for students.”

Representative Born stressed the importance of these practical changes to ordinary Wisconsinites.

“My work on Act 46 began with a constituent reaching out to me with a testimonial of how frustrating navigating credit transfers can be.  For a variety of good reasons, students may wish to begin or continue higher education at one institution and transfer course credit to another.  This WAICU-WTCS agreement is a terrific step in further reducing barriers to students.  I encourage all institutions of higher learning to build on recent momentum and augment the pathway of easy, transparent credit transfer.”

Senator Stroebel represents portions of Calumet, Fond Du Lac, Ozaukee Sheboygan, and Washington Counties.  Representative Born represents portions of Dodge and Washington Counties.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email