(Madison, Wis.) – VoteSafe WI announced the addition of five new coalition members today as the group continues to grow its influence and lend its voice across the state highlighting the need for voting that is secure and safe during COVID-19. Former Assembly Majority Leader Scott Suder (R), Milwaukee County Clerk George Christenson (D), Vilas County Clerk David Alleman (R), Dane County Clerk Scott McDonell (D), and Millennial Action Project President and Founder Steven Olikara joined the bipartisan coalition to help support the principles of VoteSafe WI.

“Ensuring that Wisconsin’s voters have a safe and secure way to vote in the upcoming election is our focus through November 3,” said VoteSafe WI co-chair, former Attorney General JB Van Hollen. “Our new  members highlight the importance of safe and secure ballots during this pandemic, and we aim to continue growing our coalition and keeping the public informed on how they can get access to their ballot.”

This announcement highlights VoteSafe Wisconsin’s emerging focus on clerks and state-level officials. These five new coalition members join Attorneys General Josh Kaul (Democratic Co-Chair) and J.B. Van Hollen (Republican Co-Chair) along with coalition members former Governor Scott McCallum (R), former Congressmen Reid Ribble (R), Tom Petri (R), and Scott Klug (R), Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett (D), Milwaukee County Executive David Crowley (D), State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski (D), State Sen. Kathy Bernier (R), former State Sen. Gary Goyke (D), and former Democratic Party of Wisconsin Chair Mike Tate.

These new members also join our organizational endorsers WE CAN VOTE, the Millennial Action Project, and the Milwaukee Bucks to help spread awareness about safe and secure voting during the pandemic.

VoteSafe WI’s bipartisan coalition includes principled leaders who want to ensure voters have ballot access in ways all parties can agree on — accessible, secure absentee voting and safe, in-person voting sites. Wisconsinites should have choices so they can exercise their right to vote without risking their health. VoteSafe WI is part of a national network of VoteSafe coalitions who are committed to secure absentee ballots and safe polling sites while pursuing their goals in a way that makes sense in their respective states.

VoteSafe WI’s principles are as follows:

  • Wisconsin should ensure that voters have broad access to both secure absentee ballots and safe, in-person voting sites; and

  • Congress should ensure that Wisconsin has the resources necessary to protect their voters and elections.

The national VoteSafe coalition is a cross-partisan group of elections administrators and nonpartisan organizations endorsing the simple principle that every American has the right to vote safely amidst the pandemic. Its goal is to ensure the safety and security of all voters as they exercise their constitutional right. The national coalition is co-chaired by former Secretary of Homeland Security and Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Ridge (R) and former Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm (D).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email