Republican congressmen from key parts of the state join effort to ensure secure, safe election this fall

(Madison, Wis.) – VoteSafe WI is announcing the addition of Republican members of Congress from key parts of Wisconsin today as the coalition continues to expand  its influence and lend its voice across the state highlighting the need for voting that is secure and safe during COVID-19. U.S. Reps. Mike Gallagher, Bryan Steil, and Tom Tiffany joined the bipartisan coalition to help support the principles of VoteSafe WI.

“We are fortunate to live in a country where we resolve our differences peacefully at the ballot box,” Gallagher said.“That is why I am proud to join the VoteSafe Wisconsin coalition in an effort to protect the integrity of our election systems and ensure voters can make their voice heard safely and securely.”

“Whether voting by absentee ballot, early in-person, or at your polling place on November 3rd, everyone has the opportunity to make their voice heard this election,” Steil said. “We must work to make sure voting is secure and that every legal vote is accurately counted. Thanks to VoteSafe Wisconsin for highlighting these issues and working to ensure ballots are handled securely and voters are able to vote safely this year.”

“Wisconsinites want their voices heard, and I’m committed to making sure that they are heard loud and clear,” Tiffany said. “I’m glad to join an effort that supports secure and safe choices for the people of our state, and I hope all voters feel confident as they cast their vote this fall.”

These three new coalition members join former Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen (Republican Co-Chair) and Attorney General Josh Kaul (Democratic Co-Chair) along with coalition members former Governor Scott McCallum (R); former Congressmen Reid Ribble (R), Tom Petri (R), and Scott Klug (R); Wisconsin Senate President Roger Roth (R) and former Assembly Majority Leader Scott Suder (R); Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett (D) and Milwaukee County Executive David Crowley (D); U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D), State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski (D), State Sen. Kathy Bernier (R), former State Sen. Mark Meyer (D) and former State Sen. Gary Goyke (D); Milwaukee County Clerk George Christenson (D), Vilas County Clerk David Alleman (R), Chippewa County Clerk Jaclyn Sadler (D) and Dane County Clerk Scott McDonell (D); former Democratic Party of Wisconsin Chair Mike Tate; and Millennial Action Project President and Founder Steven Olikara.

These new members also join our organizational endorsers WE CAN VOTE, the Millennial Action Project, and the Milwaukee Bucks to help spread awareness about safe and secure voting during the pandemic.

VoteSafe WI’s bipartisan coalition includes principled leaders who want to ensure voters have ballot access in ways all parties can agree on — accessible, secure absentee voting and safe, in-person voting sites. Wisconsinites should have choices so they can exercise their right to vote without risking their health. VoteSafe WI is part of a national network of VoteSafe coalitions who are committed to secure absentee ballots and safe polling sites while pursuing their goals in a way that makes sense in their respective states.

VoteSafe WI’s principles are:

  • Wisconsin should ensure that voters have broad access to both secure absentee ballots and safe, in-person voting sites; and

  • Public officials shall use all tools within their authority to ensure that every ballot is verified and every vote is counted. The American people must be able to trust the process and the result.

The national VoteSafe coalition is a cross-partisan group of elections administrators and nonpartisan organizations endorsing the simple principle that every American has the right to vote safely amidst the pandemic. Its goal is to ensure the safety and security of all voters as they exercise their constitutional right. The national coalition is co-chaired by former Secretary of Homeland Security and Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Ridge (R) and former Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm (D).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email