Four of five closely watched GOP primaries for open Republican seats turned into romps.

The exception was the 29th AD, where Menomonie chiropractor Clint Moses eked out a win against fellow GOP candidates Neil Kline, who worked as an aide to former state Sen. Sheila Harsdorf, R-River Falls, and Ryan Sherley.

With all 36 precincts reporting vote tallies, Moses held 38.1 percent of the votes, while Klein had 32.5 percent and Sherley had 29.4 percent.

Moses now faces Dem John Calabrese in the general election. The winner will replace Rep. Rob Stafsholt, R-New Richmond, who left the seat to seek a term in the state Senate.

In the other GOP primaries:

*Wood County Board member Donna Rozar trounced her GOP primary opponents in a four-way race for the 69th AD nomination with 53 percent of the vote.

Rozar will now face Dem Brian Giles in November for the heavily Republican seat. The winner replaces Rep. Bob Kulp, R-Stratford, who announced at the beginning of the year that he wouldn’t seek another term after nearly eight years in office.

With all precincts reporting, Tim Miller was in second place with 27 percent of the vote, while Michael Smith had 15.8 percent and Matthew Windheuser had 4.2 percent.

*Family Nurse Practitioner Rachel Cabral-Guevara in the 55th AD defeated candidates Lauri Asbury, a member of the Neenah School Board, and Jay Schroeder, who ran unsuccessfully for secretary of state in 2018, with 58.5 percent of the vote, more than the other two candidates combined.

With all precincts reporting, Asbury held 23.5 percent of the vote and Schroeder had 18 percent.

She now faces Dem Daniel Schierl in the general to replace Rep. Mike Rorhkaste, R-Neenah, who didn’t seek re-election.

*Alex Dallman won his four-way primary race for the 41st AD with 49 percent of the vote.

The second-place candidate — Gary Will — emerged with only 20 percent with 49 of the 50 precincts reporting. Fellow GOP candidate Luke Dretske reported 16.3 percent, while Chuck Harsh reported 14 percent.

Dallman now goes up against sole Dem Nate Zimdars in November. The winner replaces Rep. Joan Ballweg, R-Markesan, who left to pursue a spot in the state Senate.

*In the 35th AD, Lincoln County Supv. Calvin Callahan crushed GOP primary opponent Donald Nelson with 72.2 percent of the vote.

Callahan now goes up against Dem Tyler Ruprecht in the heavy Republican seat. The winner replaces Rep. Mary Felzkowski, R-Irma, who left the seat to run for the 12th SD.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email