August 6, 2021
Contact: DOA Communications, (608) 266-7362

Eviction Prevention Efforts Continue Despite Partial Eviction Moratorium

Rental Assistance Critical for Areas Not Covered by Current Extension

Madison, Wis.– The Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA) is urging residents in need of rental assistance to apply for the Wisconsin Emergency Rental Assistance program now despite a new federal moratorium on evictions. The new federal eviction moratorium was enacted on August 3 and will remain in place through October 3, 2021. DOA cautions that the new moratorium does not extend state-wide in Wisconsin and Wisconsinites behind on their rent could be at risk of eviction.

“We understand that changing information may be confusing to folks facing eviction. The most important message we have for people is that help is available and that they shouldn’t wait. Call 2-1-1 or visit,” urged DOA Secretary Joel Brennan, adding, “We will continue working with our local agency partners to provide emergency rental assistance and support Wisconsin families in need.”

The Wisconsin Emergency Rental Assistance (WERA) program uses federal funds to provide eligible households up to 15 months of assistance with existing or overdue rent and utility bills, including internet costs. WERA was expanded by Governor Tony Evers in July to help renters cover their housing-related costs and stay in stable housing during the pandemic. The program has provided over $47.9 million in rental and utility assistance so far this year, supporting nearly 13,000 households state-wide.

Aiming to slow the spread of the Delta COVID-19 variant, the new order from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) currently only applies to counties experiencing substantial and high levels of community transmission.

While most areas in Wisconsin are currently experiencing either “substantial” or “high” levels of community transmission, according to the CDC, 24 counties are not covered by the current order, including: Crawford, Douglas, Door, Forest, Florence, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, Kewaunee, Lafayette, Langlade, Manitowoc, Monroe, Oneida, Pierce, Polk, Sawyer, Shawano, St. Croix, Taylor, and Waushara counties. Those counties will not be covered under the current moratorium unless they start experiencing substantial and high levels of community transmission.

Using the Wisconsin Eviction Data Project, DOA is identifying Wisconsinites at risk of eviction to allow WISCAP agencies to proactively reach out to potentially eligible households and offer support and resources.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email