Gov. Tony Evers today called a July 13 special election for the 37th AD that Republican John Jagler left vacant after he won a special election for the 13th SD earlier this month.

The primary will be June 15, and a crowded GOP field already forming for the district Donald Trump won by more than 10 points in November.

Republicans who have announced plans to run for the seat so far include: Dodge County Supv. Cathy Houchin; Watertown School Board member Steve Kauffeld; Nick Krueger, chief of staff for state Rep. Terry Katsma, R-Oostburg; Jennifer Meinhardt, an associate professor at Maranatha Baptist University; William Penterman, an aide to GOP state Rep. Ron Tusler; and Nathan Pollnow, an auctioneer.

Candidates can begin circulating nomination papers today and face a May 18 deadline to file their signatures.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email